Repurposing Concrete

17 Mar

As I was ripping up the concrete from the front porch of the old burned out house I had a use in mind for reusing most of it. I intend to fill in some places that are eroding on the steep grades around the homestead. But I had an idea for one of the bigger pieces.

moto_0235

I had this piece of concrete riding on the forks of the front end loader and a thought crossed my mind. I have been thinking about making a step to go in and out of the barn and I have been considering cinder block cap pieces. The height of the step up into the barn is about 12 inches so I would need something only about 6 inches thick. BING! A light bulb went off in my head. This slab is about 6 inches thick and about 36 inches square.

moto_0237

I placed it as close as I could get it with the tractor. Then I took my 6 foot long metal pry bar and used it for a lever to scoot the slab next to the door.

moto_0238

Now I have a slight step up into the barn, and it is settled in nice and firm. And it was free, I didn’t have to buy anything to build a step. Sweet Thing probably won’t like the way it looks since it is not square, but I might plant something cheap and hardy around it like Monkey Grass. That should make it look more attractive. Keep your mind open to more possibilities, and think outside the box.

4 Responses to “Repurposing Concrete”

  1. ourlittleacres March 18, 2013 at 8:56 am #

    Nice. We love reusing especially when it means we save buying something.

    • doublebhomestead March 20, 2013 at 9:27 pm #

      Free is GOOD! Every time I step on that slab it will make me smile.

  2. Cathy March 18, 2013 at 10:41 am #

    I like it not square. Looks good.

Leave a comment