Antiques And Collectables

22 Jul

P1020069

I won this jolly little Buddha as a prize at the county fair when I was 10 years old. It was inside a glass case and you operated a miniature crane with 2 cranks to try to pick up a prize. I have held on to it for almost 50 years, it is amazing it has not been lost or thrown away in all that time!

P1020074

I bought these toy soldiers made of lead at an antique mall. The tag said they were made in the 1930’s although I have no way to verify that. Toy soldiers made from lead were even before my time! But I can still imagine some little boy sitting on the floor playing with them and having hours and hours of fun. No electronic games back in those days kids!

2 Responses to “Antiques And Collectables”

  1. pioneer Preppy July 22, 2013 at 10:20 pm #

    I doubt the soldiers are 1930 vintage since it seems to me the helmet type two of them are wearing wasn’t used until 41 I think. I would guess early 50’s but who cares they are still way cool. I also have a buddha just like your setting on my desk 🙂

    • doublebhomestead July 23, 2013 at 11:26 pm #

      Yeah, but I bet yours didn’t come from the county fair, circa 1967!

Leave a comment