Homestead Update 9/24/16

25 Sep

IMG_20160920_083728440

I finally had a good rain on my garden area to bring up the turnip greens and deer browse I planted 2 weeks ago. I checked yesterday and it appears I’m going to have a good stand of greens to pick in a couple of weeks. I love some fresh winter greens! I found this good, heavy metal barrel on the side of the interstate. I’m not sure what it held, but the label said it was some sort of coating and sealer. It looks like it was full of thick, tan, rubberized paint. I might use this for collecting sawdust in my workshop. When I start working on a lot of wood working projects, that creates a lot of sawdust that I want to keep.

P1020595

I started feeding my bees with this 5 gallon community feeder. I know I am probably feeding bees from all over the area, but I haven’t had time to put the screened feeders on the hives, maybe next week. I lost another hive recently. The hive was fine two weeks ago, then I noticed a lack of activity yesterday. I opened the hive up and found no bees, and it was full of wax moth larvae. Nasty! I still had 15 swarm traps out because I couldn’t pick them up as I have been housebound. Well, I went out yesterday and picked up 6 of them and low and behold, there were bees in one of them. I brought them home and transferred them over, but they are really strange. I don’t think they have a queen. They have built 4 pieces of comb about 6 inches square, but there is nothing inside the cells, there is no honey, pollen, or brood. It will be interesting to see how long they last.

IMG_20160922_105049644_HDR

These are some commercial hives beside a field I check each week. I know commercial bee keepers do things differently than us hobbyists, but these hives are on the north side of the tree line. These hives will be shaded all day long and the books say put your hives in the sun to help reduce small hive beetles. I have my hives in the sun and I always worry they are getting too hot. I have lots to learn about bees, I guess. Keep prepping everyone!

2 Responses to “Homestead Update 9/24/16”

  1. deborah harvey September 26, 2016 at 4:13 pm #

    clobex spray 1000$ per small spray bottle for eczema. thank God for medicare!
    may not be a help for what ails you.
    we also go to the allergist for shots every week. got so sensitive as we aged that pills were not enough.
    noxema is the conflation of the words ‘no’ and ‘eczema’. might help. can’t hurt.
    if it is pain, i use chiggerex from walmart on the lingering shingles. might help.mother used cuticura on her psoriasis. not a cure but eased it. very sticky though.

    just some thoughts.

    • doublebhomestead September 27, 2016 at 10:14 pm #

      Thanks! I’m making a list of everyone’s recommendations, I’ll probably end up trying them all!

Leave a Reply

