Creek Walking

24 Sep

IMG_20160913_095355194

I’ve been watching YouTube videos of people walking creeks looking for artifacts, and I found a place where I thought I would try it myself. It was a nice, cool morning when I gave this a try. I was a bit worried about encountering some snakes in this creek, but after I stepped in I ceased worrying. This water is coming out of underground springs so it is clear and way too cool for snakes to be swimming around in it. I was still careful watching the banks and overhangs, but I didn’t encounter a single snake. I didn’t find any artifacts, but I had a pleasant day nonetheless.

IMG_20160913_100835837

I did see quite a few butterflies and honey bees landing for a drink of water.

IMG_20160913_095851497

Looking at this picture, you might think there some pinkish colored stones on the edge of the creek, but you would be mistaken. These are large lumps of clay that are washing loose from the soil.

IMG_20160913_100308875

The clay feels like a giant lump of Playdoh! I plan on going back for more walks this fall. I’ve had good luck finding artifacts this Spring and I will show some of my finds later. Keep prepping everyone!

4 Responses to “Creek Walking”

  1. Pioneer Preppy September 25, 2016 at 7:20 pm #

    I knew a guy up here who was constantly hunting for points and stuff and he would take off from work every afternoon after we had a big rain to go walk the creeks and ditches. He said the actual runoff creeks were the best spots as the new run off was constantly washing new stuff down.

    • doublebhomestead September 25, 2016 at 8:30 pm #

      That was my first attempt, I feel confident I will find something next time.

  2. deborah harvey September 26, 2016 at 11:31 am #

    might research the clay types. that is good clean clay and might be useful to fire for use as pots or to line a log chimney.
    maybe build yourself a small kiln and see wast you can do with it.

    • doublebhomestead September 28, 2016 at 10:21 am #

      That clay felt very pure to me, no sand or loam at all. I was thinking the natives might have used it for their pottery.

Leave a Reply

