Homestead Update 7/3/16

3 Jul

I haven’t done any work around the homestead in two weeks due to my illness. I had an allergic reaction to Keflex that is so severe it had me in the hospital for 4 days this week.

IMG_20160629_135922422

That is my right hip and upper thigh.

IMG_20160629_140153634

That is the back of my left leg. Looks pretty bad, huh? Yeah it feels pretty bad too. My entire body, front and back, looks like this from my neck down to my knees. I expect to have two more really painful days then the whelps and blisters should be finished and I will just have to wait for the peeling and healing to finish. I have missed 10 days of work and will miss at least 7 more. My business partner and employees have been doing my work in addition to theirs so I am going to owe them a big debt of gratitude. I have been doing this job for 38 years and this is the first time in all of those years I have missed more than 1 day of work during the Summer. Another bad thing about this is the fact that I have to stay inside all the time. I can’t get hot or sweat in the least bit or the rash will just get worse. It’s a shame I’m home and not working but unable to do some light chores around here like straighten up my workshop or check in on my honeybees. I know they need some attention, but Mother Nature will just have to take care of them for now.

IMG_20160516_144057767

This is a native American artifact I found a few weeks ago. It is actually a Paleo Point, which may be 12,000 years old! This is the old stuff PP often asks me about. I have found 3 new places to find artifacts this year. While I have been laid up in the house, I have been watching YouTube videos of people hunting and finding artifacts. I had to stop watching those videos, it is tearing me up that I can’t hunt my new locations! I hope to be on the mend soon and maybe I can hunt a little more before the crops get too big and canopy over and hide the ground. I have found some really good artifacts and I am preparing a long post with some of them. Until then, keep prepping everyone!

2 Responses to “Homestead Update 7/3/16”

  1. Pioneer Preppy July 3, 2016 at 3:18 pm #

    Ouch that looks really painful. What was it you had a reaction too?

    Paleo point would mean it was an early Indo-Asian immigrant tool after the original Solutrean based Clovis peoples had been killed off right? I am so bad at seeing stuff like that when I walk around. I did find a bunch of half inch ratchets and drives the other day along the side of the road and made me think about you.

    Get well soon my friend!!!

    • doublebhomestead July 3, 2016 at 3:28 pm #

      Thanks PP. Keflex is in the penicillin family, so none for me ever again! Good find on the ratchets. I haven’t found much roadside treasure this Summer. I did spot a new looking “wonder bar” on the shoulder of I55 a while ago, but the next exit was 8 miles down the road then 8 miles back so I passed it up.

Leave a Reply

