Snake Bite!

8 May

IMG_1211

My sister was cleaning up some old firewood on the patio and she was bitten by a Copperhead! You can see the fang marks in the center of the circle by her little toe. She said she knew she needed to be careful and watch for snakes and spiders but this one got her anyway. She said the doctors didn’t give her any anti-venom. They told her the anti-venom could be as bad or worse than the bite itself. They are giving her intravenous antibiotics and meds to control the pain. I sure feel bad for her, get well soon, Sis!

IMG_20160418_113630696

Speaking of snakes, I was riding along a drainage canal when I looked over the edge and spotted this Moccasin curled up on a limb soaking up some sun.

IMG_20160418_113805990

I picked up a clod of dirt and threw it at him. I partially dislodged him from his perch and needless to say he was not pleased! He is coiled up in striking position flicking his tongue like a whip!

IMG_20160425_115240221

I have been going out in the fields checking on crops, and I found a new spot to look for Native American Artifacts. These are some bits and pieces of artifacts as well as some pottery shards, so I know I am searching in a good spot.

IMG_20160425_115632849

I found this nice, round smooth stone as I was searching. I can’t be sure it is an artifact, but it sure fits my hand well and could be very useful to a Native so I am hanging on to it.

IMG_20160505_162045742

I did find one decent piece so I am excited to come back and check this spot again. It is in a corn field so I will only have a few weeks before the corn becomes too big and hides the ground.

IMG_20160418_125204190

I wondered what might have attracted the natives to this spot so I looked around and sure enough I spotted this naturally occurring small river at the head of this field. Of course, modern men have cleaned all the trees and brush out of the channel for faster drainage, but it still would have been here 500 or more years ago to provide many of the things a primitive man would have needed. The river would provide water for drinking, cooking, bathing, as well as providing fish, frogs, turtles and act as an attractant for game animals and birds.

IMG_20160507_063402636

Just a quick update on Brandy. Here she is in her favorite spot, nestled up in the crook of my arm. She is making good progress on her biting control and house breaking. She might end up being a good dog after all. Keep prepping everyone! Get ready for Hillary 2016. Heaven help us all!

3 Responses to “Snake Bite!”

  1. Pioneer Preppy May 9, 2016 at 2:40 pm #

    So no artifacts from the original Solutrean/Clovis native inhabitants just from the more recent Asian invaders? Too bad. But interesting finds none-the-less.

    I hate snakes.

  2. Eikka May 10, 2016 at 1:01 pm #

    Not a moccasin in the photo, but a harmless watersnake.

    • doublebhomestead May 10, 2016 at 5:13 pm #

      Yeah, you are right. We call water snakes water moccasins and the venomous snakes Cottonmouths. I don’t like any of them. I do have a long black king snake around my Barn I let live.

Leave a Reply

