Homestead Update 4/2/2016

3 Apr

IMG_20160329_110647869

I managed to put out some more swarm traps this week for a total of 16. As you can see this one is about 15 feet in the air. I think I have them all positioned from 9-15 feet high. It’s not easy to haul them up that high pulling on a 1/4 inch rope thrown over a limb, let me tell you!

IMG_20160329_173539941

I went on YouTube and copied this idea for a table saw sled to cut hand holds in bee hives.

IMG_20160329_173515429

It makes hand holds almost as good as factory made. I couldn’t cut them on my saw nearly as fast as the videos showed. I don’t know if my saw was underpowered or maybe I was using the wrong blade. In the videos, it takes 5-10 seconds to cut this out. On my table it takes 60 seconds because I have to “hop” the sled on the blade instead of just using a steady cut. Never the less, it got the job done.

IMG_20160401_103237179

Spring seems to be in full force now and my hostas are coming up. Take a look at the bright yellow leaves on this specimen. I forgot the name of it, but it sure is pretty in the early Spring.

IMG_20160403_120852733

I noticed a row of these trees blooming at a park. I walked under them to look and sure enough, the bees were working like crazy.

IMG_20160403_120918989

I’m not sure what it is. Probably a sort of Japanese Cherry if I had to guess. Anybody out there have any ideas?

IMG_20160330_085941033

I also came into possession of this aluminum up-right scaffold/ladder. It doesn’t look too safe does it? It has a platform that extends from 9 feet to 14 1/2 feet. I had one of my employees climb up at 9 feet like you see here. He said “this is not too bad.” We raised it up to 14 1/2 feet and he said “Uh-Uh, I don’t like this!”

IMG_20160328_122206550

It is called a Tallescope and they are used extensively in the UK, particularly in the Theater business. I couldn’t find any information about this item in the US which leads me to believe OSHA probably has banned their use. There are supposed to be 2-4 outrigger legs on the sides which this one is missing. I think I can buy some that will fit so that will make it much more stable.

tallescope

This is one in use in a theater and those outrigger legs do indeed make it look much more stable.

IMG_20160229_142321093

We were visiting another couple last week and we got to meet Albert. The owner whipped out a bottle of Visine and put drops in his eyes and I said “what in the world is that about?’ She said he had some surgery for a condition called “Cherry Eye” and it messed up his tear glands, therefore the eye drops. She said they spend more on his Doctor bills than they do on themselves. I know the feeling! Until next week, keep prepping everyone!

One Response to “Homestead Update 4/2/2016”

  1. Pioneer Preppy April 6, 2016 at 1:11 am #

    Interesting way of making the hand holds. I actually prefer the extra wooden slats screwed on the side for hand holds myself rather than the ones cut out. They just seem to work better for me.

    I don’t bother putting my traps up higher than I can reach anymore. It never seemed to make any difference around here that I could tell. I was also unsure if the traps blowing in the wind wouldn’t discourage the scouts too.

Leave a Reply

