Homestead Update

24 Jan

IMG_20160122_083105561_HDR

I hope you have all survived Winter Storm Jonas. After watching the news on TV and internet, it still amazes me how people can be so unprepared for even a 3 day emergency. When SHTF we are really going to have some riots and uprisings like has never been seen. I know all of you, my readers, are at least marginally prepared, and most of you are fully prepared. We had 5 inches of snow here at the homestead, with some temperatures in the low teens. At times like this, I am glad I don’t have any livestock and chickens to take care of. Sweet Thing says I can’t have any until I retire so I will have time to take proper care of them, and I can see her point. Just going out and taking care of the dogs and barn cats is enough for me. I did go out and remove the snow from the entrance of my bee hives. As of last week, I still saw bees flying in and out of the hives on sunny days. I hope they make it through the winter. Other than that, not much has gone on around here. I have been going out to visit with my farmers to come up with a plan for the coming year. They all say they didn’t make any money in 2015, and next year doesn’t look any more favorable unless the commodity prices have an unexpected rally. That doesn’t bode well for the economy in this part of the country.

Donald-Trump

I have been watching the Trump phenomenon with mild amusement. The funniest part of this is watching the talking heads on the news shows react with absolute bewilderment trying to explain his poll numbers. The Washington elite are so out of touch with the rest of America it is unbelievable. There is only one way to explain it. Good, honest, hard-working tax payers are sick and tired of the absolute cesspool  that is our government. There are many, many people in the heartland of this country that have given up on voting because they think politicians are all the same. I can certainly agree with that sentiment. Well, here is someone different, and if he is elected, he might just go to Washington and blow the whole system apart. That is probably the only way to change anything. Will all of those disenfranchised voters come out and actually vote? That is the big question. And if Trump is elected, will he actually do anything productive or just sit back and take the bribes from the establishment and become just as rotten as the rest of them? We will have to just wait and see. Keep prepping everyone!

Leave a Reply

