Homestead Update

12 Sep

IMG_20150910_180703134

The weather has finally taken a turn towards Fall, with cooler temperatures and lower humidity. I worked up a spot of ground in the back and planted some deer browse for the wildlife to eat this winter. I also put out some buckwheat seeds in this patch. I know it is late for buckwheat, but while I was at the bee keeper’s meeting, one of the old beeks showed me some pictures on his phone. He said he planted some buckwheat and after only 14 days later it was up and blooming and his bees were working it. So I decided to give it a try, maybe there will be time for the buckwheat to bloom and my bees can stock up for the winter.

IMG_20150911_161206459

I started putting up more shelves in the back of my new barn addition. I need to put up one more shelf and add the front legs and I will be ready to start adding junk valuable stuff on them.

IMG_20150905_083529689

Our local Feed and Seed store had these cats outside when I went to pick up my seeds for the deer plot. The owner said they showed up a few weeks ago and wouldn’t leave so he started feeding them and now they appear to have taken up residence at the store.

IMG_20150831_110656221_HDR

I found another piece of roadside treasure this week. I was driving down a gravel road and spotted this measuring tape in the middle of the road. It worked out really nice since I had just broken the one I carry in my truck the day before.

IMG_20150909_101218436_HDR

I was coming through an intersection in town and this auto accident had just occurred. This white car slammed into the rear of another car which then slammed into a pickup truck. The driver on the white car was probably texting and driving if I had to guess. Remember, Don’t Text and Drive!

IMG_20150911_192130116

And finally, if you look at that bright spot in the middle of the picture, you can see an aerial drone. It was hovering around the local High School football stadium taking videos of the on-field action. I have seen drones on You-Tube, but this is the first in real life. It could hover there motionless for a while then shoot off in any direction. It reminded me of a Hummingbird! People are just now thinking up ways they can use drones to make money, but I don’t see the usefulness just yet. Although they might be good for scoping out the area checking for Zombies! Until then, keep prepping everyone!

2 Responses to “Homestead Update”

  1. Leigh September 28, 2015 at 2:29 pm #

    I came by to return the blog visit and thank you for taking time to leave a comment. I’ve planted buckwheat in the past, but didn’t realize it can grow and flower so quickly. I might still have time to get some in!

    • doublebhomestead September 28, 2015 at 6:26 pm #

      Thanks for coming by Leigh. I’m not sure the buck wheat will bloom before frost, I’m relying on some advice I received from another bee keeper at my bee club. I’ll let you know how it turns out.

Leave a Reply

