Homestead Update

30 Aug

IMG_20150826_142316361

I use this net to sweep through the soybeans I check each week. In this field I swept up several honey bees which was unusual since these soybeans were no longer blooming. But, the weeds in the field were blooming. The main weed they were working was prickly sida, commonly known as teaweed.

prickly_sida_plant

It is hard to tell from the picture, but teaweeds have lots of small yellow blooms. They sure seemed to like those blooms!

IMG_20150821_090947238

I drove by this pile of driftwood from the river backwater and noticed someone had thrown a bunch of wooden shipping pallets onto the pile. Well, you know what happened to those pallets don’t you? That’s right, I went back and got them and stacked them behind my barn. I can always use a good pallet!

IMG_20150821_125822394_HDR

I drove by this house and noticed this bush. Do you see those dead limbs sticking up and the green foliage underneath? That is a huge, old fig bush that was frozen back to the ground two winters ago, but regrew from the roots. My small bushes did the same thing, but this bush was at least 15 feet tall. That’s how cold the winter was!

IMG_20150826_154901880_HDR

Some of my regular readers know how I keep my eyes open and spot lots of things lying on the side of the road. I spotted this out of the corner of my eye and thought “Oh Lord, surely that is not what it looks like.” And thankfully it was just a doll. There are some evil, vicious people in the world today,  just like the nut who killed the TV reporter live on-air last week. You never know what kind of murder and mayhem you may encounter out in the world. You have to be on guard at all times. The TV and internet has been full of articles remembering this 10 year anniversary of hurricane Katrina. Many, many people said they were shocked at how fast civilization collapsed once the electricity went off. I’m not the least bit surprised. As a matter of fact, I surprised it doesn’t happen more often! The world is full of animals just waiting for an excuse to go on a rampage. The stock market crashed (not really a crash they say, just a correction) and the powers that be said don’t worry, everything will be OK. Keep moving, nothing to see here! Keep your bullets, beans and bandages stocked up and keep prepping everyone!

One Response to “Homestead Update”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Homestead Update | doublebhomestead | WORLD ORGANIC NEWS - September 2, 2015

    […] Source: Homestead Update | doublebhomestead […]

Leave a Reply

