Homestead Update

16 Aug

IMG_20150808_175511864

I didn’t do much around here this week although I did pick a few grapes from the vines I planted last Spring. I’ve neglected the orchard this Summer, but hopefully everything that survives will be tough and hardy for the future. I disked up a small area in the back preparing to plant some turnip greens when we get a rain. We have 3 days with a 50% chance this week so maybe I can get the greens planted then.

IMG_20150812_155816432

I found the first open cotton bolls of the year this week. The bolls are small and dinky because they came from a burned up sand blow area in a field, but at least they are an omen of things to come. The end of this season is near! Finally!

IMG_20150811_083149989

As I was working, I stopped under a tree to send a text on my phone and these chickens came running out to my truck. I guess they thought I was going to feed them. Someday soon I will have chickens here on the homestead. If you look at the top of the picture you can see the sun shining through the fog that morning. We have a lot of heavy fog days in August because of the high humidity. That’s what drives the heat index values so high in the Summer. It’s cooler this week, but the prior week the heat index was nearly 115 degrees. That is way too hot!

IMG_20150808_175642047_HDR

This is a picture of one of the Cooper’s Hawks that live here at the homestead. When I do get chickens, I don’t know if I will ever be able to let them free range because of the hawks. Do any of you have hawks bother your chickens? Keep prepping everyone!

2 Responses to “Homestead Update”

  1. Pioneer Preppy August 17, 2015 at 10:23 am #

    I fed most of my grapes to the chickens this year. We have a large population of Redtailed hawks around along with smaller ones and they have not attempted to attack the chickens yet. However the dog we have hates big flying birds and barks at them whenever they fly over and the chickens now stay in and around the barn in the ram’s paddock. We should be getting more chickens here soon so they may become a more tempting target after that.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Homestead Update | doublebhomestead | WORLD ORGANIC NEWS - August 18, 2015

    […] Source: Homestead Update | doublebhomestead […]

Leave a Reply

