Native American Artifacts

26 Jul

I’ve had a really good year finding artifacts this year. It started off slow but finished with a flurry.

IMG_20150601_113320381

Early this Spring I found this nice cutting tool.

IMG_20150724_174643656

This is what I picked up the rest of this year. Most of it is just bits and pieces of broken points, but if you look at the bottom row you can see some nice actual arrowheads. When most people think of “arrowheads” they picture something like the picture below;

museum1

This is a really nice projectile point, but it is not an arrowhead. It is much too large and heavy to be fired from a bow. It is actually a spear point or some sort of defensive stabbing stick. But the points on the bottom row of my picture are small points that could actually be fired on an arrow from a primitive bow. They are very hard to find(1) they are so small they are hard to see and (2) they are thin and delicate and tend to be broken by our large, modern farming equipment. I have only picked up three small points in my entire life, but this year I picked up ten in one month, and nine of them came from one field. If you had suggested that would happen I would have laughed in your face and called you crazy! In addition to that field I just mentioned, I discovered another field where I found lots and lots of pottery shards.

pottery 3

This is a picture of some Native American pottery in a museum. You would never find whole complete pieces like this unless you excavated a burial site or an elevated mound, both of which are illegal now. But you can find broken bits of pottery like these at old native campsites.

IMG_20150724_174345780

These are three very large pieces I found at the site. If I had picked up all the small pieces I would have been able to fill up a 2 gallon bucket. I know for sure these are pottery pieces because a museum curator taught me how to identify them. The pieces are much lighter than stone or porcelain, and they have an open, porous texture. Modern pottery would have at least one surface of a highly glazed finish.

IMG_20150724_174414962

This piece is large enough you can see the curve of the bowl.

boy

I found this drawing of a native forming a bowl out of clay and ground shells. I can just imagine him sitting in front of his animal skin tee-pee forming a bowl to use for cooking, eating, drinking and storing food. And now here I sit 200, 500, maybe 1000 years later holding a piece of his pottery in my hand! I wonder what his life was like, I wonder what he thought? I would like to go back in time and talk to him. That would be really interesting wouldn’t it?

IMG_20150724_174321027

I was really, really happy to find this piece. It is a piece of pottery on which the maker took the time to use a sharp object and draw decorative lines on the bowl before he finished it. I knew they occasionally did decorative work but I never thought I would find a piece of one!

IMG_20150724_174515816

I also found a piece of pottery that would have been a handle on a bowl. Very rare and hard to find.

IMG_20150724_174541862IMG_20150724_174546535

I also found this stone in the same spot. Now, I can’t be sure it is an actual artifact and not just a random stone, but it sure could be. The stone is smooth as glass, and has a perfectly flat bottom. When you hold it in your hand it fits perfectly and would work really well as a grinding stone. Since I found it on the site among the other artifacts I am going to keep it just in case!

IMG_20150605_103919028IMG_20150605_103849957

I found this tooth at the same site and it sure looks human to me. You can even see the cavity right in the middle of it. Maybe it was hurting and he pulled it out!

IMG_20150724_174721652

And lastly, I found these two lead bullets at the site. Could they be related? Who knows, I guess they could be. Keep your eyes open everyone!

8 Responses to “Native American Artifacts”

  1. lisa July 27, 2015 at 11:47 am #

    where are you that you find these awsome finds?!
    very very cool!

    • doublebhomestead July 27, 2015 at 8:56 pm #

      Hi Lisa, thanks for stopping by! I found these in SE Missouri while I was walking through cotton fields. It is nice to have something to break the monotony of looking for bugs and weeds.

  2. michigan doug July 27, 2015 at 12:50 pm #

    Cool finds.Some those little ones are really hard to see.

    • doublebhomestead July 27, 2015 at 8:57 pm #

      I guess that is why I have found so few, they are too tiny!

  3. Pioneer Preppy July 27, 2015 at 5:32 pm #

    Nice Indo-Asian Immigrant stonework there. Ever find any Clovis/Solutrean first settler stonework around Missouri?

    • doublebhomestead July 27, 2015 at 9:16 pm #

      I don’t think I have anything that old. I think my grandfather had some tools that might have been that old, but his collection seemed to have disappeared after he died so I can’t say for sure.

  4. lisa July 28, 2015 at 8:45 am #

    When I was young I lived in Gainesville MO, and we would fish and when we would see fields that were just planted or still short we would look for them all the time. I found two one year, sadly that was 35 or more years ago, I have lost them. My step brother though, he had TONS , he had laser eyesight ( he was a sharp shooter for the army). If I was with him, you were lucky to stand a chance at seeing one before him. lol. I am in western PA now, and you hardly stand a chance of finding things…

    • doublebhomestead July 28, 2015 at 4:38 pm #

      Yes, I imagine anywhere in PA all the fields have been walked over many times already.

Leave a Reply

