Homestead Update

11 Jul

Well, let’s see if anything of interest happened this week. I was reading PP’s blog and he was complaining about all the rain he has been getting. We have been getting rain just as frequently although not in the amounts he has received. The rain still has made getting things done quite challenging to say the least. But the worst thing is all that rain PP has been getting runs downstream and now we have literally thousands of acres in my area under flood waters.

IMG_20150710_095729278

This is one of the fields I am supposed to be working this year.

IMG_20150710_100008287

This is another one of many in the area. You can see the irrigation pivot in the corner of the picture. It’s not doing much good right now is it?

IMG_20150711_165435464

There have been miles and miles of temporary levees built around fields to try to keep the waters at bay. Sometimes it worked, sometimes not.

IMG_20150711_164358907_HDR

I spotted something on top of one of these levees, and I first thought it was a cat. Turns out it was an owl. He was just sitting there out in the bright sun, watching me as I went by. When I got closer he flew away so there was nothing wrong with him that I could see. I also saw a solid white fox this week. I sure would have liked to had a picture of that, but he ran across the road right in front of me and ran into a corn field before I could even get stopped.

IMG_20150704_102605066

I was watering some of Sweet Thing’s flowers and I took this pretty picture!

IMG_20150704_102640122

I also bought this honey bee made from metal at a local flea market. I wanted to put it by my hives but she took it away from me and put it in her flower garden!

IMG_20150620_080714280

I have some Sunflowers blooming and the bees are working them a bit.

IMG_20150618_121343594

I saw this pile of children’s toys thrown out in a ditch. I thought if they were closer to my house I might pick them up. I probably could use those tires and axles to make shop carts or chicken tractors. I went back by a few days later and they were gone, somebody beat me to it! Keep prepping everyone!

2 Responses to “Homestead Update”

  1. Pioneer Preppy July 12, 2015 at 3:17 am #

    Ya I know it sends you guys down that way flood waters but geez at least you have some dry spots away from the flood plains. Or drier than we do lol. It’s like every field up here is a flood plain or at least a recently drained mud flat. Don’t think I am trying to downplay anyone’s situation I am just pointing out this is the absolute worst rainy season I have ever been through. Way beyond the great flood years even. I don’t think there are even small pockets of lucky ones like I usually see in other types of weather events around here.

    I was seeing either a screech owl or some other type of smaller owl everyday in the same spot when I was traveling back and forth to the hospital for my wife last month. I thought it strange to see one so consistently out during mid-day over and over.

    Nice looking Bee yard ornament too!!!!

    • doublebhomestead July 12, 2015 at 8:46 am #

      I just checked my 10 day weather forecast and it calls for temperatures in the mid to upper 90s and minimal chances for rain. Looks like the Summer drought is officially here. In a week, everyone will be hoping for a rain!

Leave a Reply

