Another Swarm Trap!

28 Jun

IMG_20150616_171028814_HDR

This is my box style swarm trap hanging in a tree last Thursday. It must have been hot in that box, they had a small beard of bees on the outside. Sweet Thing and I went over about dark and picked it up yesterday.

IMG_20150628_140026139

I sat the trap on top of their new hive home and let it sit overnight. After church we went out to cut them out and it still must have been hot in that trap, there was a big beard on the outside! There were 6 really nice pieces of comb drawn out and attached to the lid of the trap. The comb had a good bit of uncapped honey stores, but I didn’t see any brood yet. We did a cut out and placed them in the new hive. The bees were so nice and calm, I didn’t even put any smoke on them. After we put the comb in the hive, I shook out as many of the bees into the hive as I could. Then I just set the trap down in front of the hive and it took about 30 minutes for all of the stragglers to make their way into the hive. I really hope this swarm stays!

IMG_20150627_143247124

You probably have trouble seeing it in this picture, but our lawn has a lot of white clover in it in this area. As I was mowing Saturday, I stopped and looked before I went over it and I saw dozens of bees working in the clover. I can’t run over those bees! So I just mowed around all the clover patches. I told Sweet Thing if she wanted the patches mowed she could go out about dark and mow after the bees quit foraging. She just gave me a really strange look, I didn’t quite know how to interpret it. What do you think it might have meant? Keep prepping everyone!

IMG_20150623_134438147_HDR

Oh, speaking of prepping, I found this can of fruit cocktail in the pantry and the expiration date was June 2012. I decided to take them for my lunch and give them a try anyway. They tasted just fine! They didn’t have any funny taste or smell, although the color may have been slightly pale. Other than that, the can was just fine. So just because something is a little out of date, don’t automatically discard it without opening it up and checking it out. I have several nice posts in my head to go along with the pictures I take everyday, but somehow I just can’t seem to find the time to type them out. More to come.

2 Responses to “Another Swarm Trap!”

  1. Pioneer Preppy June 29, 2015 at 12:24 am #

    I doubt the swarm will leave. They are already invested in that box and new location. I started pulling all my traps back in today. Late June is about the latest I want to start a new hive up here but I imagine down there you have a few more weeks of build up and milder Winters besides.

    • doublebhomestead June 29, 2015 at 9:20 am #

      I have 5 traps still out. I am going to leave them out one more week and then pick them up. If this last swarm stays, I will have 5 hives here on the homestead. I think that is plenty for a noob like me to deal with.

Leave a Reply

