Wooden Shop Work Table

31 May

IMG_20150527_165317601

I built this wooden work table for my shop out of 3/4 inch plywood and 2X4s to make it nice and sturdy. I wanted it to be mobile so I can shove it around against the wall and keep the center of my shop open. I could put a shelf on the bottom, but for now I am going to keep it open. I plan on keeping my generator and shop vacuum underneath the table.

IMG_20150526_182614260

I used a 2X4 to attach locking 4 inch casters to each side of the table. Pictured above, the wheels are in the upright position, allowing the legs of the table to sit solidly on the floor.

IMG_20150526_182706697

I found all sorts of plans on the internet on putting wheels on the table and using foot levers to raise and lower the wheels. I decided to keep it simple. All I have to do to lower the wheels into the rolling position is lift the table and use my foot to fold the hinged wheels underneath the legs and the table is ready to roll. To set the table on the floor, I simply lift the table and flip the wheels out with my toe.

IMG_20150526_180037514

If you decide to try this I have one tip to help you out. I used my vice/anvil to bend the hinge about 3/8 of an inch up from the hinge pin. That way you can mount the hinge to the side and the center pin will be up off of the floor. Otherwise, when you flip the wheels up, the metal hinge will be supporting the weight of the table instead of the weight resting on the legs. It only took me 30 minutes to install the wheels and now I can roll the table to where I need it then roll it back out-of-the-way when I am finished. Pretty simple.

IMG_20150526_172658033_HDR

This was the first time I used my new vice and I was amused when I took it out of the box. It came with instructions! In my opinion, if you need instructions to operate a vice, you have no business using power tools of any kind!

IMG_20150525_155718188

Sometimes when I am working in my shop I let my kitties come out of the man-cave and help me. This is the culprit in the motor cycle seat scratching incident. What? Who me? I’m just laying here minding my own business!

IMG_20150508_091224050

Oreo started out on my work stool helping me. A little while later I heard a noise over my head and thought what is that?

IMG_20150526_172830728

I looked up and there he was climbing around in the rafters! Of course, he then wanted me to help him down. I should have just left him up there! Keep prepping everyone!

Leave a Reply

