Homestead Update

23 May

We had another cool rainy week around here. It is finally dry enough for me to go to work, just in time for the weekend! The weatherman is predicting rain everyday next week, I really hope they are wrong. I did have an interesting experience with my bees yesterday. I have been opening up at least one of my hives everyday for the past two weeks, without my protective gear and without incident. I have been refilling the entrance feeder with sugar water in my swarm hive everyday without incident as well. Today when I pulled the feeder out, the bees came out after me! A half dozen of them flew around my face and one stung me on the cheek. I finally managed to get the feeder refilled after 3 tries, and then I sulked away with my feelings hurt. The sting was no problem so I guess I am not seriously allergic to the stings. That’s good to know. I guess I am going to get a lightweight jacket and veil for quick checking on my bees. The president of my bee club says a sting on the eye can cause blindness and I can’t risk that so I better take precautions.

IMG_20150508_183910865

I did some cleaning up and reorganizing in my shop. I went from the picture above to the one below.

IMG_20150519_150605283

I still need more organization, but I have space enough to have a 4X4 wooden work bench now. I made one this week and I will show it to you next week after I get the wheels on it.

IMG_20150520_170746592_TOP

I also built a screened wall in my new addition where I am storing my dirt bikes. The cats decided the seats on my bikes make a good place to sharpen their claws so I had to screen them out. They have already ruined the chairs in my man-cave, but I don’t need ruined seats on my bikes!

IMG_20150519_154327688

I put a new carburetor on my Champion Generator. I left it full of gas over the winter and the carb was varnished over. I cleaned it up and the generator ran, but I couldn’t get the gas to stop leaking out of the carb. I ordered a new one from Amazon for $20 and after installation it runs perfectly again. Lesson learned!

IMG_20150522_201440432

I found my first small pieces of Native American artifacts today!

IMG_20150522_174320767_HDR

I also encountered this huge skunk in a field today. I’m glad I didn’t get sprayed! He was digging up insects and grubs to eat.

IMG_20150522_115755441

I saw this on the road at an intersection and it turned out to just be a lug off of a semi-truck.

IMG_20150521_131812163

I also found this piece of plywood on the shoulder. It is big enough to make two tops for my hives so it pays to keep your eyes open even if sometimes you just stop for a useless lug nut. Keep prepping everyone.

2 Responses to “Homestead Update”

  1. Pioneer Preppy May 24, 2015 at 10:05 am #

    Hives always get meaner the older they get. I don’t even attempt to mess around the hives without a veil on and always smoke them if I do more now. Sometimes they will remember you for days if you don’t and seek you out.

    • doublebhomestead May 24, 2015 at 8:38 pm #

      That is just what I need, a target on my back with an angry bee on my trail!

Leave a Reply

