Homestead Update

16 May

I had to work every day this week so I didn’t accomplish much in the homestead area. I will show you how my work went instead.

IMG_20150507_163246506_HDR

I was driving down a back-country road and came upon an accident being cleared. As I was sitting and waiting, I looked over to the side and saw this;

IMG_20150507_163556735

Goats! I took this picture and sent it to Sweet Thing and wondered if the owner had any goats to sell. She sent back “No! You can’t have any animals until you retire. You are too busy to take good care of them while you are working so you will just have to wait. No goats, chickens, rabbits, quail, pigeons, peacocks, cows or mules!” Well, we will just have to see about that won’t we? Just kidding

IMG_20150513_172803316

I was riding my ATV through a field and I came across these resident Canadian Geese. Hey, Can I have some Ducks and Geese on the homestead?

IMG_20150512_151444906

I picked up this nice deer shed on the edge of a field. This could have been a nice 10 pointer!

IMG_20150516_154152328

The honeysuckle is blooming like crazy, and when I drive my ATV past a big mound of it the smell will just overwhelm me sometimes. I just have to stop and breathe it all in!

IMG_20150514_125442347

A bee keeper finally put some of his hives on the border of one of the fields I check. These are some really old, ratty, worn out hives let me tell you. The tops are bowed and warped and don’t seal up and there are big cracks between the supers where the bees go in and out. As bad as they look I bet the owner will not be on top of his game and probably some of these hives will swarm this summer. I am definitely going to put a trap near these hives, maybe I can catch one of his cast off swarms.

IMG_20150516_154458862_HDR

It rained here yesterday and again all this morning. When it stopped I checked my rain gauge and had 1.75 inches. As I was checking it I could hear bees buzzing from 100 yards away. I walked down to my hives and they were really flying during this break in the showers. I hope my bees don’t swarm and fly away! Keep prepping everyone.

4 Responses to “Homestead Update”

  1. lbeth1950 May 16, 2015 at 9:46 pm #

    Maybe some of those bees will come calling.

  2. Pioneer Preppy May 17, 2015 at 10:41 am #

    Don’t put a trap too close as the swarms natural tendency is to go about a mile or so away from the original location to set up a new hive.

Leave a Reply

