Bees, Bees, and More Bees!

9 May

IMG_20150505_080640855

These are the new shelves I built in my barn addition. You can see my new bee equipment on the shelves, mostly in those boxes. Last week, I noticed about 50 bees working around those shelves. I don’t know what they found so attractive, all of my equipment is new so it doesn’t have that “old bee smell.” Anyway, I had 3 of the cardboard swarm traps just sitting there so I thought “What the heck,” I’ll just bait one up and see what happens. Well, Sweet Thing called me Monday and said “you need to come home, you have a million honey bees flying around in your barn!” I told her she was lucky enough to see an actual swarm coming to a trap.

IMG_20150508_141231845

I opened it up today after four days and this is what I saw. Lots and lots of bees! I transferred them over into a hive and I did smoke these bees although they really weren’t as aggressive as I thought they would be. They only really landed on me after I cut the comb loose and picked it up to put it into some empty frames. I didn’t get any pictures of that, it’s hard to work quickly and take pictures at the same time.

IMG_20150508_142122035_HDR

After I put the comb frames in the hive, I dumped the rest of the swarm into the hive. The stragglers started coming to the hive immediately so I felt good that the queen was inside.

IMG_20150508_142536407

I set the hive back on the shelf and the stragglers continued to come to the new hive.

IMG_20150508_142528339

These bees are sitting on the front of the hive with their butts in the air, just fanning their wings. I read this is a signal to the rest of the bees “hey come on in, the queen is here, this is now our new home!” I’ll leave it here for two days then I will move it out to the bee yard. If this works out, it will be a free hive of bees for me. Yeah! Keep prepping everyone!

5 Responses to “Bees, Bees, and More Bees!”

  1. Pioneer Preppy May 9, 2015 at 10:15 pm #

    Yep. If I was starting all over again I would just capture swarms and not worry about buying any bees. It’s best to move them at night after they are all inside the hive and then place a small branch with leaves on it in front of the entrance after moving them. That way the bees will know they have been moved in the morning and will re-orient to the new location before taking off to forage.

    • Leigh May 10, 2015 at 2:08 pm #

      PP, I’m taking notes!

    • doublebhomestead May 10, 2015 at 8:22 pm #

      I haven’t heard that limb trick but I’ll certainly try it.

  2. Leigh May 10, 2015 at 2:08 pm #

    Wow, what a gift! I can relate to picture taking. Being a new beek myself I’ve not yet managed the camera while tending to my bees. I can only hope for a similar event some day.

    • doublebhomestead May 10, 2015 at 8:23 pm #

      I actually got Sweet Thing to help me with the cut out, but she was holding the frame while I was attaching the comb with the rubber bands so we were both too busy to take pictures. Maybe next time!

Leave a Reply

