Homestead Update

25 Apr

IMG_20150424_134306835

I had to work three days this week; still I managed to get the bathroom finished in my shop. The walls are painted, the fixtures are set, and the water lines run and hooked up. We had one connection leaking but we managed to get it stopped. I still need to hook up the septic tank, but I have to wait for the rain to finish tonight. I didn’t want to dig a six foot square hole and have it filled with rainwater tomorrow.

IMG_20150424_130757481_HDR

After we hooked up the water supply lines, I used the stopper and filled up the lavatory to check for leaks. Kensey jumped up and stood in the water with all four feet and proceeded to splash the water out with his paw. Thanks for the help! Oreo was in the other room sleeping, he didn’t even come in until we were finished.

IMG_20150423_142626965

While I was working, I saw this air conditioner housing in the middle of the road. Being a good Samaritan, I stopped to put it on the shoulder before someone hit it, and I noticed the mesh grill on the back. I immediately realized I had a use for that.

IMG_20150423_171621841

I pulled it loose and carried it home to cut into 3 inch squares to cover the holes in my swarm traps to prevent the birds from coming in. I can get at least 24 hole covers from this so I won’t have to cut up my rabbit cage wire. I painted the three swarm traps I made and I will put out another one tomorrow. I will have one at the back and one at the front of our property. Oh, the Red Fox showed back up this Spring. Sweet Thing and I both have seen him out in the daytime just about every day this past week. He trotted past the dog pen one morning and Wilma barked at him a little bit but Jethro just stood there and watched. Some watchdogs you two are! Keep prepping everyone!

Leave a Reply

