Swarm Traps And Feral Bees

24 Apr

IMG_20150421_133003162

I put out my first swarm trap today! My queen lures which had been backordered from Mann Lake arrived in the mail today, so even though I was feeling puny, I got up off of my duff and did a little something. I’ve had a bad sore throat for 3 days and yesterday (Tuesday) I had a high fever to go along with it. I went to the Doctor this morning and told her my symptoms. As she was looking at my throat she said “ it’s no wonder you have fever, you have Strep Throat.” Wonderful! She gave me some anti-biotic and said if I was not better in 5 days to come back. Hopefully the drugs and salt water gargles will knock it out. Anyway, I really wanted to get my trap out, I know bees are swarming because I drove through a big cloud of them yesterday. As they were splattering on my windshield I thought this is the pits! Bees are swarming and I don’t have a single trap out. Now I at least have one out. This is the trap I made out of the used 10 frame medium super. I stapled the lure to the lid and added a few drops of lemongrass oil so hopefully I will catch something. I put the trap on the back tree line of our property with the hole facing South and hanging about 7 feet off of the ground. That is as high as I can reach up to take it down without using a ladder. I’m keeping my fingers crossed.

IMG_20150421_132811606IMG_20150421_132822755

This is another reason I am hopeful of catching a swarm. This tree is about 100 yards down the fence line from where I hung the trap. If you look in the center of each picture you will notice big knot holes in the tree limbs. I sat there and watched bees working around and checking out those holes. I don’t think they were actually going in and out, I think they were just scout bees looking around. Maybe they will move on down to my trap and find it to their liking. Keep prepping everyone!

2 Responses to “Swarm Traps And Feral Bees”

  1. Pioneer Preppy April 25, 2015 at 6:44 pm #

    Swarm season should be getting into high gear down there about now. Prolly another 2 weeks up here yet. Look for those days when it rains in the morning and then the sun comes out and it gets hot. Hives will swarm like crazy on days like that. Once you can drive up and see a number of scout bees checking out your trap you know there is a swarm nearby wanting to move in.

    • doublebhomestead April 25, 2015 at 7:58 pm #

      I’ve been looking everyday but no scouts yet. I hope to set out a few. More traps this week. We only got 1/4 inch of rain so area farmers should finally start to work this week. I’ll go around and visit with some of them this week and I’ll ask for permission to set some out.

Leave a Reply

