Homestead Update

28 Mar

Last week the weather finally warmed up and made it feel like Spring, although tonight we are expecting near record lows in the upper twenties. But while the weather was nice last week I took the opportunity to do a little work around here.

IMG_20150324_173950067

I noticed the field across from our house had a purple haze of color to it from the Henbit blooming!

IMG_20150325_162840736

That reminded me to get my bee hives set up and ready for the arrival of my nucs. You might notice the bottom board of one of the hives is painted purple. Why? Well, that bottom board is a screened varroa mite board and it came to me unpainted. I already had a can of purple spray paint so I thought “why not?”  It will add a little splash of color to my hives.

IMG_20150326_164221385_HDR

I was also able to get the 10X30 addition to my workshop framed up and sealed in. I was able to get the cat enclosure set back up so my kitties can come back outside and look around. They had been cooped up inside for 2 weeks and they didn’t like it one bit. I even got the garage door installed. This was my first attempt at a garage door and it worked out well. It took me and my two employees 4 hours to put it in and get it adjusted properly, but now it works perfectly. I think I could put one up in 2 1/2 hours now that I have some idea of how to do it.

IMG_20150325_142148836

Those metal tracks allow the door to roll up and down, and it has many places where you can adjust the spacing of the track and the rollers. Now that I have it adjusted properly, you can literally raise and lower the door with one finger. This additional space will be where I lock up and store my rolling stock, dirt bikes, ATVs, etc. so I will have room to work inside my shop.

Finally I might get around to doing some of the projects I have been putting off. Keep prepping everyone!

2 Responses to “Homestead Update”

  1. Pioneer Preppy March 29, 2015 at 9:31 pm #

    I always paint my hives with whatever I have or odd mixed stuff I find cheap at the hardware stores. Might want to avoid dark colors for the brood chambers and the like to keep em cooler in Summer though.

    Henbit and Dead Nettle blooming up here now and I noticed the Bradford Pears were blooming about 20 miles South of us today too.

    If I could make a suggestion on your stand for your hives? I would move the two support timbers in a bit to keep the bottom boards from bowing along the bottom on you. Rather than having them at the extreme ends of the bottom board.

    • doublebhomestead March 30, 2015 at 10:41 am #

      Thanks for the tip, I will do that. I painted the inside of my man cave in my shop a pale yellow color that I got from the hardware store mis-mixed paint sale rack. Not a color I would have chosen, but for $5 a gallon it was good enough.

Leave a Reply

