Homestead Update

21 Feb

IMG_20150216_085110292

Well, we have been iced in all week. I know that picture looks like snow, but it is 3 inches of sleet. I walked across the road and took this picture back towards our house.

IMG_20150216_084714852

These are our neighbors farm shops across the road, as you can see it is still sleeting as this picture is taken.

IMG_20150216_084626354

This is the road in front of our house, I don’t want to get out on that!

IMG_20150216_084651600

But as you can see, some knuckle-head in a 4X4 just had to get out and drive, just to see if he could.

IMG_20150216_084151966

Here is Wilma sitting and waiting for her food.

IMG_20150216_084219930

Here is Jethro chowing down on his feed. the cold doesn’t seem to bother them much. Sometimes I look out towards the pen and they will be laying on the snow and ice just napping. I guess when they get cold enough they decide to get back inside their houses.

IMG_20150214_101158263_HDR

Last Saturday was Valentine’s Day and I wanted my Sweetie to have a special day so I took her out to the Flea Market and Antique Malls. And we stayed out ALL day! We went from one place to the other, did I mention we stayed ALL day? Anyway, we started out the day at our favorite little hole-in-the-wall restaurant for breakfast. They don’t have a kitchen, they cook everything on a big grill right there behind the counter where you can watch it being done, and as always it was delicious.

IMG_20150214_134009046_HDR

Since we spent so much time in the Antique Malls, I managed to find a few goodies for myself like this old bamboo flyrod. It was manufactured and imported from Japan in the 1950’s, and looking at the cork handle, I can tell it has never been used.

IMG_20150214_134225280

It fits inside this nice wooden carrying box, it looks nice on display in my office.

IMG_20150217_185022819

I also picked up this red leather chair where visitors can sit in my office. And it only cost $10, what a deal!

IMG_20150214_135213661

I also picked up this one-man cross-cut saw. I have a good two-man saw hanging on the wall in my shop so this one-man version will look good hanging right below it. I hope I never have to resort to actually using them, but it is nice to know I have them just in case. If things get that hard I will just find some strong young studs and lend them my saws then lend them my knowledge and expertise. If times get that hard, I can just hear it now, “let’s go see old Swamp Dog, he really knows some stuff!”

IMG_20150219_101223219

When we got home from ALL day shopping at the Antique Malls, we got ready and went to dinner with a couple of our friends. As Sweet Thing was getting ready, she called me to her dressing table and asked if her hair was level across the back. I said it was not so she had me cut her hair! I guess I will have to add hair stylist to my resume!

This frozen spell has lasted all week, but last night the temperatures finally rose above freezing for the first time in 6 days.

IMG_20150221_084634472

So this morning we awoke to this sight, water all in the kitchen floor! We already knew we had a leak either in the front windows or where the porch joins the wall. The water is not leaking from the ceiling, it is running down inside the front wall. After we had a small 12 inch spot of water in the floor a few weeks ago the contractor came out and said he would fix it when the weather warmed up.

IMG_20150221_100513162_HDR

All that sleet was dammed up in the valleys and as the rain melted the ice, it started running inside. Our contractor said he would have to pull those vinyl shake shingles off of the front wall and put more flashing around the windows and in the valleys. He said if he tried to remove the vinyl in these cold temperatures, the shingles would break and we have no extras and they were special ordered when we built originally.  I think I am going to just go order enough shingles to redo the entire area and tell him to go ahead and fix it, I can’t have water running down inside the walls, that could cause all sorts of rot and mold problems. After Sweet Thing mopped up our water, I suggested she call her Mom and check her basement. Sure enough, she had 2 inches of water standing in her basement so I met our young Nephew over there and we wet vacuumed all of the water out. Our Niece had a leaky roof at her house and the sheetrock ceiling collapsed in her pantry! Sweet Things sister had water flooding her lower level garage due to the ice buildup on the concrete. This frozen stuff is for the birds, I am ready for it to be all gone. Oh well, Spring will be here before you know it. Keep prepping everyone!

13 Responses to “Homestead Update”

  1. Pioneer Preppy February 22, 2015 at 5:38 pm #

    Nice saw and pole ya picked up there.

  2. John February 23, 2015 at 8:55 pm #

    just wanted to stop by and thank you for liking my guest blog on Harsh Reality. you got a good thing here, keep up the good work
    john
    http://www.theviewfrommyrecliner.wordpress.com

    • doublebhomestead February 24, 2015 at 8:32 am #

      John, thanks for stopping by, I hope you come back soon!

  3. http://theenglishprofessoratlarge.com February 25, 2015 at 12:00 pm #

    All that snow and ice has me shivering and remembering my winters in South Dakota, Minnesota, and Nevada. I hope it clears soon for all of you.

    • doublebhomestead February 25, 2015 at 1:15 pm #

      I don’t think I could survive even one winter in Dakota or Minn. Thanks for stopping by and thanks for not correcting my grammar even though I need it!

      • http://theenglishprofessoratlarge.com February 26, 2015 at 2:37 pm #

        I never correct grammar unless it’s on a student’s paper. Bloggers write from the heart, and that’s the way it should be.

  4. Sherri February 25, 2015 at 8:04 pm #

    Your post was so interesting. All that cold weather, snow and melting ice is so different to anything I have ever experienced. Here in sub-tropical Queensland, Australia we had quite a week last week an earthquake at the beginning of the week and a cyclone (hurricane) to deal with at the end of the week. And following the cyclone it has been very hot and humid.

    • doublebhomestead February 25, 2015 at 9:16 pm #

      Yes, our seasons are exactly opposite. Here is the middle of winter and you are in the middle of summer. We are near the New Madrid fault, the experts say when the big one hits, we will be sucked down into the bowels of the earth. Let’s hope it doesn’t happen anytime soon!

  5. lbeth1950 March 16, 2015 at 7:25 am #

    Loved your day at the flea market, but you can keep the sleet!

  6. Rellick March 16, 2015 at 8:19 am #

    I like the saw you picked up. We have layers of snow here in the Maritimes 4-6 feet high and here it is the middle of March. LOL

    • doublebhomestead March 16, 2015 at 9:06 am #

      I had to look up the Maritimes. That’s Canada Dude, you’re supposed to have snow in March!

Leave a Reply

