Homestead Update

15 Nov

I spent several days away from home during the past 2 weeks, including some time I spent at my parents house.

IMG_20141025_143007245_HDR

Their house is on the lake, and they needed the seawall replaced. Every 4 years, the lake authorities lower the level of the lake so people can make repairs to the seawalls and docks. I had to hire someone to do the work since I was occupied with other things. I sure didn’t want to pay for that, but I just was not able to do the work myself. The men that put up the wall did a good job so I am satisfied.

IMG_20141009_151159989

You can’t see it very well, but if you look below those red flowers, you can see a solid black squirrel that showed up in the pecan trees and my Mom is tickled to death to watch it running around her yard.

IMG_20141115_120310972

I went back into the woods behind our house and finished clearing a path to the back side of our property. The leaves are falling and the woods are starting to open up where you can see a long ways looking through the trees.

IMG_20141115_120428905_HDR

But I finally made it all the way through today! Now I can bring my tractor or ATV all the way to the back line.

IMG_20141115_120500985_HDR

Joining us on the back side of our property is a 200 acre field that is usually soybeans, but this year it was planted in half corn and half cotton. Those trees are about 1/4 mile away, and they are surrounding a really nice lake. If the grid goes down, that will be my third source of water!

IMG_20141115_120525649

This is a view from the field looking back towards the path I cleared through the woods. I cleared out a spot on the edge where I plan on having some bee hives next year. They will have a good source of water right in front of the hives, and be in a secluded location away from any roads where no one will be able to bother them.

IMG_20141115_120918121

For safety sake, since my eye is still healing up, I decided to wear my safety helmet with full face shield to guard against any limbs and branches whipping across my eye.

IMG_20141115_092809556

I also stumbled upon a prize this week. I looked in the local shoppers guide, and saw this table saw for sale. The man was asking $200 for it and he said it was working perfectly, but he wanted to warn me before I came to pick it up, it was over 30 years old and it was a big heavy steel model, not one of those nice, new lightweight aluminum ones. When I arrived to pick it up, I plugged it up and it did indeed work perfectly. He had 7 blades to go with it, a dado set, an adjustable extension stand, a precision fence, an angle jig, and several other items. It was a steal for $200, the blades alone were worth more than that. As we were loading it into the back of my truck, once again he apologized for it being so old and heavy, but I just grinned. That was exactly what I wanted, I already have one of the new, light weight cheap ass aluminum models. This steel table would cost $600 for a similar saw now. I am going to use it this winter while the weather is bad to make some bee hives for next Spring. Until then, keep prepping everyone!

3 Responses to “Homestead Update”

  1. j clay November 15, 2014 at 9:08 pm #

    Don’t forget to make some swarm traps too. If I had to start over again, which is always a possibility every Winter, I would just trap all my own bees and never buy anything but maybe a queen here and there.

    Nice table saw too gratz on that find.

    Oh ya this is PP btw. I had to use a different wordpress sign in.

    • doublebhomestead November 15, 2014 at 11:02 pm #

      Thanks PP. I will definitely put out some swarm traps. That will be part of my whole sulf-sufficiency approach, trapping my own free bees someday. I drive a wide loop through 5 counties each week, traveling around 800 miles or so. I have many, many places I could put out traps. Are you having trouble signing in and leaving comments elsewhere?

      • j clay November 16, 2014 at 10:25 am #

        YA WordPress has always given me fits when commenting. Either it automatically sends my comments to the spam void or it just wont take em period. If I can contact the blog owner like I did with you it gets sorted out but otherwise I had to create a different log in on others.

        Not sure whats up with it.

Leave a Reply

