Homestead Update

8 Nov

I haven’t done much around the homestead this week due to my eye healing up. And even though no one bothered to ask, my eye is doing much better now, thank you very much.

IMG_20141024_165853342

Sweet Thing and I went to the big Flea Market two weekends ago; I looked at all the old tools and such. The only thing I saw that was a good enough deal to buy was this draw bar for my tractor at only $15, I couldn’t pass that up.

IMG_20141022_160408713

That Flea Market is the same place I bought this $15 fuel pump last year. I used it a whole year without any problems until last week. I tried to fill my tractor and I pumped, pumped, and pumped on the handle but I couldn’t get it to prime and start pumping no matter what I tried. I thought “Dang, now I am going to have to take the pump apart and try to figure out how to repair it and order a kit to fix it.”

IMG_20141022_155730837

But as luck would have it, I saw this sitting in a front yard by the road with a “for sale” sign in front of it. I checked it out and it looked OK, so I took out my new smart phone (yes, I finally caught up with the rest of the world and got rid of my old reliable flip phone) and went to the Tractor Supply web site to see if I remembered correctly how much this would cost new. The tank would be $499 and the least expensive 12 volt pump would be over $200. After you add the tax, you would be looking at pretty much $800 for this set up. Oh yeah, now I remember why I am using a Flea Market pump and 2 free oil barrels for my fuel, I couldn’t see spending that much even though I wanted one badly. I called the number on the sign and the man came out from inside the house and I prepared to do my best horse trading. I asked him if the tank was rusted inside, he said no and removed the cap and used his pocket flashlight to let me look inside. I asked if it leaked and again he said no, he just took it out of his truck yesterday. I asked if the pump worked and he said yes, the only thing he didn’t like about it was the long cord with alligator clips on the end which caused him to need to raise the hood of his truck and hook them up when he needed to use the pump. He then hooked the pump to my truck battery and you could hear the pump run, although it didn’t pump since the tank was empty. I asked why he was selling it and he said it was just taking up too much room in the bed of his truck so he was going to downsize to a 40 gallon tank and get a new pump wired directly into his electrical system. So now we got to the point where we would cut to the chase. I knew a new one was $800 so I figured he would ask somewhere between $400-500, but I decided I wouldn’t pay a cent over $350. I asked for the price and he said “I need $100 for the tank and $100 for the pump. I am firm on the price but I will sell them separately if you don’t want them both.” I said SOLD! So much for my horse trading skills, huh? Now it is sitting behind my barn, waiting for my new addition to be added to my barn. I finally got the original builder of my barn to come and give me a quote on an addition, (after a month of calling) and I hope construction starts soon. I need more space!

IMG_20141017_111056072

Speaking about Tractor Supply, this is a semi trailer blown over on their parking lot. The last storm front blew through here with 50-60 MPH winds, it was pretty rough going for a while. The weathermen are all calling for the Polar Vortex to return this week, so I have been getting ready.

IMG_20141108_164036747

I put a big stack of firewood on the back porch, and I have a stack in the fireplace primed and ready to go. All I have to do is touch a match to the paper and we will be all warm and toasty!

IMG_20141108_134646428_HDR

The weather was nice and warm today so I went across my new culvert and walked through the woods this afternoon. I spotted this huge hornet’s nest in the trees. It was about 2 feet tall, so it would hold a lot of hornets! I found one like it in the front of the homestead last fall, so I will have to be careful as I am wandering around in warm weather. I wouldn’t want to bump into one of these while the hornets were home! More to come tomorrow, keep prepping everyone!

7 Responses to “Homestead Update”

  1. Cathy November 9, 2014 at 10:40 am #

    Oh Swampdog…I am so sorry I have not asked about your eye. I promise I have been thinking about you. Perhaps selfishly…I need to do the same thing. Did you only have one eye done? Do you look even more devilishly handsome now? Was it a local doctor? My husband is so jealous of your homestead. He has very similar ideas as you and I always tell him what you are doing.

    • doublebhomestead November 9, 2014 at 2:59 pm #

      Hi Cathy, thanks for stopping by. My eye is much better now, I want to get the stitches out soon, they are starting to itch. I went to Memphis to have the surgery, but the Dr. Comes here monthly. I only had one done, i don’t think I could have stood both at once. Tell hubby to come by and I will let him play with my tractor!

  2. Mike November 9, 2014 at 6:56 pm #

    I’m sorry to hear about your eye. Thank goodness it’s better. 🙂

    • doublebhomestead November 9, 2014 at 8:01 pm #

      Hi Mike, THANKS FOR RESPONDING TO MY OBVIOUS PLEA FOR SYMPATHY!

      • Mike November 9, 2014 at 8:03 pm #

        Anytime! 😄

  3. michigan doug November 12, 2014 at 6:05 pm #

    you have eyes? I only look at your tractor.

    • doublebhomestead November 12, 2014 at 7:59 pm #

      Doug, you could take my tractor with the front end loader and pile up all that Michigan snow 10 feet high! You could make the worlds best snow fort!😃

Leave a Reply

