Homestead Update

18 Oct

IMG_20141004_174256502_TOP

It rained nearly every day this week, we probably had a total of 5 inches total so not much was accomplished this week. You might remember I planted 4 fig bushes in the orchard last Fall, and after the hard winter we had they all froze back to the ground. Well,  3 of them came back from the roots and I eventually pulled up the 4th one, trunk and rootball together. I was going to throw it in the gully and I spotted a washout where the ground was eroding so I just dropped it in the hole. As I was throwing away some junk last week I noticed the bush was regrowing from the roots. I thought for sure it was dead! Now I have a fig bush where I definitely don’t need it to be growing. I guess I will dig it up next spring and move it somewhere else.

IMG_20140928_142014448

A few weeks ago I also discovered these red pears in the grocery store. I have never tasted red pears before and I think they are delicious so I went on-line to find some trees to plant in the orchard. I ordered 4 trees from a nursery in Georgia and they shipped the trees via FedEx. Before I ordered the trees, I watched a video on their website showing how to plant the trees after they arrived. In the video, the box arrived and when it was opened up, the tree was 5 feet tall with pretty green leaves and a large rootball. Well, that wasn’t what I received!

IMG_20141008_165246909IMG_20141008_165251632

My box arrived looking like this! (not the nursery’s fault ) The package looked like it was run over by the truck, repeatedly!

IMG_20141008_165417599_TOP

This is 4 trees chopped off about 3 feet tall, leafless, and with a few miserable feeder roots attached. I don’t know if they will survive or not but I planted them the day they arrived and watered them in so we shall see next Spring. Oh, on the right side of the trees you can see 3 twigs sticking out. Those are 2-year-old bearing age Muscadine vines. Not too impressive are they? I planted them as well so we shall see if they survive. I am definitely keeping my receipt and if they are dead next Spring I am going for a refund even if I have to drive all the way to Georgia to get it, I have their address!

imagejpeg_0-1

I also encountered this Cottonmouth Moccasin last week. He was a little sluggish from the cool weather but he was still nasty, nasty, nasty. But no one will have to worry about encountering him anymore, I beat him to a pulp! keep prepping everyone, and watch where you step!

2 Responses to “Homestead Update”

  1. Vicki Kanzler-Green October 18, 2014 at 10:00 pm #

    You computer screen must be a magnifying glass. We ordered trees out of the Sunday newspaper, what we got was a box of dead twigs.

    • doublebhomestead October 21, 2014 at 7:50 pm #

      Did your trees live? I. Am looking forward to having some nice red pears in a few years.

Leave a Reply

