Bees and Honey

28 Sep

IMG_20140923_111225196

As I was out working last week I noticed a stand in front of a house where someone was selling Honey. I stopped to take a look and there were pint jars for $5 and Quart jars for $10 which I thought was a good deal. I bought a pint to try out and I am going to go back next week and buy some for my MIL. The stand works on the honor system, you put your money in the toy mailbox you can see sitting on the end of the shelf. The lady of the house just happened to be in the yard watering her flowers and we had a nice chat. I asked if she ever had anything stolen and she said in the 5 years the stand had been out front, she only had 1 jar disappear that she couldn’t account for.

P1020531

I have been seeing many more bee hives sitting around this year. It might be that I am just taking more interest since I am reading up on bee keeping and planning on getting hives of my own someday, but I really think there are many more around. I don’t know if people are doing it as a source of income or if more people are just seeing the need to become more self-sufficient. Either way, I am sure there are more hives showing up in my area. These hives have been varnished instead of painted, I don’t know why.

P1020560

I saw this trailer full of hives by one of my fields, and I saw some hives turned over. I wondered if it was a result of vandals or animals.

P1020563

Then I saw this at the next location and I think maybe the owner did it for some reason.

P1020562

P1020561

I noticed the hive on the left had no bee activity at all, and one other hive had very few bees coming and going. Maybe there were some of the hives dead? Would the owner open the hives if they had collapsed and let the bees scavenge the remaining honey? Would that possibly spread whatever had caused the initial collapse? I don’t know enough about it to even guess, Maybe Pioneer Preppy can lend his expertise.  I did ask the farmer about the arrangement he had with the bee keeper and no money changes hands. The only thing that transpires is the farmer receives 4 quarts of honey from the bee keeper each year. The hives have been on this farm for over 10 years and the owner has never complained or commented about the farmer spraying and killing the bees. The only time the farmer ever considers the bees is when the wind is blowing directly towards the hives. He then will skip spraying right up to the hives and will come back late in the day to spray. Hopefully someday I will get some hives here on the homestead. Keep prepping everyone!

2 Responses to “Bees and Honey”

  1. Pioneer Preppy September 28, 2014 at 8:59 pm #

    Leaving a dead out hive wide open like that with so many other hives around allows the neighbor hives to rob it out faster and use the resources that are left inside before vermin and pests can get to it. Also many pests like wax worms prefer the darkness of a hive and need exact temps to live so opening it up may kill em off.

    I bet those top hives are not varnished but dipped in beeswax as a sealant. Many large bee keeping operations will dip their stuff in vats of melted beeswax as it’s much easier than painting and much cheaper (kinda) if you have the enough wax to do it. It also makes the boxes last a lot longer. You have to have a big operation to have that much wax. Upwards of a few thousand hives I would estimate.

Leave a Reply

