Homestead Update

27 Sep

IMG_20140922_075812311

The winter greens are really growing well, and the worms finally went away. Sweet Thing and her sister have been picking several Wal-Mart bags full every day.

P1020577

One bag full of picked greens cook down into this one dish of cooked greens. We eat some for dinner, then freeze the rest for later.

P1020580

This is my healthy dinner with okra and tomatoes, mustard greens, and great northern beans. All together that is only 2 WW Points Plus and I ate 2 servings for 4 total points and I was full and satisfied!

IMG_20140920_135634841_HDR

This is one of my next projects to finish, clearing out some of those trees and brush near the road. You can also see that pile of mulch waiting to be spread. I moved a few scoops of it last week, and when I scooped it with the front-end loader, you could see the steam rising from the pile. It has been there long enough to start composting! I am still waiting on the dump truck to bring some more dirt to add on top of my culvert, then I will cross over and start clearing a path through the woods. Always something to do on the homestead, keep prepping everyone!

Leave a Reply

