Healthy Eating

26 Sep

IMG_20140920_114405696_HDR

I have been trying to eat healthier, so the last time we went to Applebee’s for lunch instead of my usual cowboy burger and fries, I ordered the cedar grilled salmon with summer veggies. It was delicious! We have started making sautéed spinach here at the homestead and it has become one of my favorite dishes. I even eat it with my omelets for breakfast. Like most kids, I wouldn’t touch the stuff, but now I think it is delicious. The only time I remember trying it as a kid was the canned stuff, and if I had to eat that now, I probably still wouldn’t like it.

IMG_20140923_081443464

Speaking of omelets, here is my healthy version. I use one ounce of lean, sliced sandwich ham, diced. I add two tablespoons of Pico DE Gallo (tomatoes, onions, peppers), one spoonful of sliced olives, and one spoonful of diced mushrooms. I put the ingredients in a non-stick skillet with a splash of Olive Oil and sauté until the onions become translucent. Then I pour in 3 Eggbeater egg whites and just let it cook for 3 minutes. At that point, add a sprinkle of fat free cheese to one side of the omelet and flip it closed. Let the cheese melt for 30 seconds and voilà, you have a healthy omelet with approximately 4 WW Points Plus. Add 2 slices of Healthy Lite toast for 2 more Points and add one tablespoon of strawberry jam for 1 more point and you have a good, healthy breakfast with 7 WW Points Plus. I’ve always made a mean omelet, and this one is just as good but in a healthier version. As long as you use the Eggbeaters, you can change the other ingredients and make several different versions and still be healthy. Try it sometime, I think you will enjoy it.

2 Responses to “Healthy Eating”

  1. Pioneer Preppy September 26, 2014 at 9:23 pm #

    Thanks but I still don’t like Spinach and I prefer the 12 oz hamsteak with my eggs and everything smothered with CHEESE!!!

    I understand though you have to keep telling yourself how good it is in the hopes of fooling the brain. Old age sucks 🙂

    HAHAHAHAHA

    • doublebhomestead September 26, 2014 at 10:35 pm #

      No, no, no. I really like it. Still miss those French Fries though.

Leave a Reply

