Homestead Update

6 Sep

moto_1290

The garden is almost finished for the season, we are picking the final tomatoes and cantaloupes.

moto_1281

We went to the Farmer’s Market and bought some nice fresh Okra and Vidalia Onions. Sweet Thing used our Tomatoes and the Okra and Onions to make some delicious Okra and Tomatoes. This dish is so good I’ll bet even Pioneer Preppy would like it!

moto_1278

I hooked up my disc and worked up a spot in the back and planted 4 different winter greens. We will pick what we want and leave the rest for the deer to eat this winter.

20140830_100649-1 (2)

I bought a piece of culvert to go into the gully in the middle of the homestead. As things are now, we have 16 acres of woods in the back and the only way to get there now is on foot. After I get the culvert installed, we can go to the woods on the tractor or the ATV. I expect we will spend more time back there when it gets easier to get to. More to come.

2 Responses to “Homestead Update”

  1. Pioneer Preppy September 6, 2014 at 9:19 pm #

    Okra (Yuck) NEVER!!!

    Is that 10 foot of culvert? What gauge and how much did it cost ya if I may ask? I need to put one in behind my barn but I don’t need one that large 🙂

    • doublebhomestead September 6, 2014 at 10:51 pm #

      42 inches by 20 feet. 16 guage galvanized steel. Pipe plus tax plus delivery $800. Has a 20 year life expectancy, plastic one that size costs $1200 but possible 50 year life.

Leave a Reply

