Homestead Update and Cute Cats!

27 Jul

Hey, tagging with cute cats always gets extra hits, so here we go.

P1020513

Poor ole Kensey had to go to the vet last week to check out a bad sore place on his nose. The Vet said it looked like a fungal infection so he scraped it off and gave me some medicine to smear on his nose twice a day. Kensey sure doesn’t like it, he avoids me now when I go into the cave with him. If you look at the picture you can see his one gold eye and one blue eye.

P1020525

Oreo says why all the fussing over Kensey and not me?

P1020517

It was a hot day even with the AC running so they like to lay on the concrete because it’s cooler.

P1020514

They have been getting on my nerves lately because they were turning over their water pan every day. I had to come in after work and build this wood contraption to hold up the water bottle so they couldn’t tip it over. Now if they will just not take their paws and splash the water out just for fun!

P1020505

There are a lot of these wild morningglories blooming in the area. Pretty aren’t they?

P1020502

I saw these bee hives near one of my fields and this is the first time I have seen them in this area. These hives are old and worn looking, so I guess someone just found this new place to set them out.

P1020506

I also saw these nice healthy calves. When I stopped at first they ran and hid behind mama.

P1020507

I sat there for a minute and they became curious and came out to see what I was doing. Hopefully I will have a calf or two on the homestead someday. Until then, keep prepping everyone!

2 Responses to “Homestead Update and Cute Cats!”

  1. pioneer preppy July 27, 2014 at 9:53 pm #

    I believe you are an imposter. Where is the real Swamp Dog? No one with ties to agriculture in Missouri would call Morning Glory or any other type of Bindweed cute.

    To quote a reader of mine. “The Doorway to Hell is sure to be decorated with Morning Glory”

    • doublebhomestead July 28, 2014 at 8:46 am #

      HAHA! These are not the kind you find out in the field, these are roadside MGs. Besides, we have plenty of chemicals to use in the field so now-a-days they are just a minor problem. I think you should let a few survive in the bean patch so they will bloom, I know your wife would appreciate them.

Leave a Reply

