Homestead Update

28 Jun

Not much went on around the homestead this week due to my work schedule. We mowed the lawn and pulled weeds from around the tomato plants, otherwise it was just work, work, work!

P1020495

The corn is starting to tassel and looking good since it had so much rain so far this year.

moto_1193

Wheat is ready for harvest, lots of amber waves of grain now.

P1020496

Of course, when the wheat is cut, many farmers burn off the fields to get rid of the straw. I strongly discourage my clients from doing this, it is a real waste of organic matter.

moto_1202

I found this on the shoulder of the road. You can’t tell from the picture but this is a 3/4 inch drive ratchet. Heck yeah! Those things are expensive, I can use this with my set I bought at Harbor Freight. I also saw a long handle shovel laying on the shoulder of the interstate, but I decided to pass it up and not go back for it. It was at the interchange of 2 interstate highways and the traffic was just too heavy to risk dancing around on the road. It’s not worth getting run over or causing a multi-car pile-up just for a shovel. Still, I sure did hate to pass it up. Keep prepping everyone.

4 Responses to “Homestead Update”

  1. pioneer preppy June 28, 2014 at 10:09 pm #

    All I ever see along the road are dead raccoons and armadillos. You lucky B**rd.

    • doublebhomestead June 29, 2014 at 6:53 am #

      I see plenty of those as well, and let’s not forget the skunks!

  2. crazyandcolorful July 14, 2014 at 11:30 am #

    Do you guys grow hay?

    • doublebhomestead July 14, 2014 at 7:02 pm #

      No mam, although our lawn sometimes looks like you could bale it for hay! I’m glad to see you young ladies are still around, thanks for coming by.

Leave a Reply

