Homestead Update

16 May

I have been busy this past week due to planting season finally getting underway. I am at the time of year I might work 30 days in a row without taking a day off.

moto_1077

Cotton planting got underway last week, this is one of our plots where we put out 12 different varieties to test out.

moto_1068

We have some corn planted to look at this year and most of it looks like this, pretty small and weak!

moto_1071

This is about the biggest corn around.

moto_1070

I found this old hammer head in the field.

moto_1074

I mowed the grass again, but I left this big, tall cereal rye grass in the back. This is part of my deer browse I planted, and I am going to leave it until the rye goes to seed. Maybe it will come back next year.

moto_1076

This is some crimson clover I didn’t mow. It came back naturally from the deer browse I planted last year.

moto_1075

I saw some honey bees working these blooming turnips, so I waited to mow this strip as well.

moto_1067

I cut up the Magnolia tree that the wind blew down in the neighbor’s yard and I added the green wood to my wood pile for burning this winter. Keep prepping everyone!

Leave a Reply

