AR-15 Build

5 May

P1020450

I didn’t show the details of my AR build. I only had to complete the lower with this kit, the upper was already assembled.

P1020444

First, I went on-line and printed out this parts list from AR-15.com

P1020446

I opened the bag of loose parts.

P1020447

I put the parts list inside a cardboard tray that previously held canned sodas. Then I placed the appropriate part on top of the picture on the diagram, that way I was sure what each part actually was. Those little springs, indents, and pins look awfully similar sometimes. The only trouble I had with assembly was putting the pivot pin indent where it belonged. As I was pressing it down on the spring, it slipped and went flying across the room! Fortunately I had another pin in another kit so I was able to use that pin instead. I looked on-line and you can buy a package of 10 of those indents and springs for just $8, so that will be in my next Amazon order!

P1020452

Other than that, assembly went smooth as silk, so now my new AR is ready for action! Keep prepping everyone!

3 Responses to “AR-15 Build”

  1. michigan doug May 6, 2014 at 11:08 pm #

    Hi. just wondering,did you need any special tool to put the lower together?

    • doublebhomestead May 8, 2014 at 8:54 am #

      Doug, the only things I used were a plastic hammer, pliers and one special tool for the pivot pin indent which costs $6 for the tool. The lower assembly is easy as pie.

    • doublebhomestead May 8, 2014 at 11:01 pm #

      Oops, I forgot I also have an armorers tool purchased for $24.

Leave a Reply

