Chickens!

1 May

moto_0995

I was in Tractor Supply and they had baby chicks for sale. I sent this picture to Sweet Thing and she sent back “NO, you can’t have them. At that size you have to keep them in a box with a heat lamp and take them out and hold them and play with them, then you have to clean the bedding everyday and clean the water and feed twice a day,,,” and after that all I saw was BLAH, BLAH, BLAH, BLAH! Man sometimes it’s hard being married to someone so practical! But she was right, I don’t really have time to tend to them right now, even though I did buy this at Sam’s Club,

http://scene7.samsclub.com/is/image/samsclub/0040632668419_B?wid=1500&hei=1500&fmt=jpg&qlt=80

This is the deluxe chicken chalet kit. I intend to build a frame around the bottom with treated 2X4s so I can move it around the yard, that will turn it into a chicken tractor. I went ahead and purchased it now because it seemed sturdier than similar coops I have seen at Tractor Supply, and if you see something you want at Sam’s you better go ahead and get it, they might sell out and not restock anymore. That has happened to me several times before. I just left the kit in the box and put it in the barn, maybe I will have time to start my chicken keeping next Spring. Keep prepping everyone!

2 Responses to “Chickens!”

  1. pioneer preppy May 1, 2014 at 9:23 pm #

    I keep saying I am going to get chickens. Then I remember all the mass raccoon killings and rooster cullings and well I put it off another year.

Leave a Reply

