Wind Storm

29 Apr

We had a pretty severe wind blow through here Sunday night. The local newspaper reports some people saying a small tornado came through and I might agree with that. I have a lot of limbs down in the yard as well of lots of loose debris that blew from behind the shop. My neighbor has 3 small trees down in his yard and the lean-to roof on his shop was blown loose and he had a full-size freezer on his carport that blew over.

moto_1062

I walked back to the gully and spotted this trunk split from the main tree. I had just looked at that tree a few days before and thought that tree is going to come down any time now.

moto_1065

I know it’s sort of hard to see, but just 100 feet away I spotted two more trunks split.

moto_1066

I had this tree completely broken off at the ground.

moto_1067

The only thing I discover wrong with our house is a piece of steel siding trim on the eave blew loose. I hope all of the shingles are OK. All in all it could have been a lot worse. But, we were safe and snug in our storm proof bedroom and we didn’t even hear a thing. Keep prepping everyone.

2 Responses to “Wind Storm”

  1. glattheranch April 30, 2014 at 12:00 am #

    It’s been blowing 55 mph here all day. Hard to feed hay when it just wants to blow away! Glad your house stayed in one piece… For the most part.

    • doublebhomestead April 30, 2014 at 9:29 am #

      Yeah, those strong winds all day long will just make you go crazy sometimes.

Leave a Reply

