Homestead Update

27 Apr

Well, I finally found the time to do some mundane chores around the homestead this week.

moto_1047moto_1049

This is a before and after picture where we ran the bushhog. It looks like we could have baled that grass up for hay! I am still debating whether or not to buy a ZTR mower to cut the grass. I could just continue to use the Kubota for cutting grass, but it doesn’t give a smooth “manicured” lawn. I have been advised by several people a ZTR mower would be much better to cover a large area such as we have, but Sweet Thing doesn’t think she will like those mowers and she will be primarily in charge of mowing. So I have a plan in mind. I am going to the local dealer and see if he has a used trade-in or a demo mower we can try-out for two weeks and if she likes it I will buy a ZTR from him; if she doesn’t like it I will buy a lawn tractor from him. I might just buy a small, inexpensive lawn tractor for the area near the house and continue to use the Kubota for the rest of the property. But on the other hand, if we had a ZTR I wouldn’t have the bushhog hooked up on the tractor everytime I wanted to use another implement. Attaching the PTO shaft from the bushhog to the tractor is a major pain in the butt!

moto_1046

While we were picking up limbs and sticks preparing to mow, I spotted this birds nest on the ground underneath a pile of limbs. I left the limbs where they were and eased back later to check the nest and flushed a Brown Wood Thrush off of the nest.

thrush

I am surprised she let me get close to take these pictures, those Thrushes are usually very aggressive.

moto_1051

I was planning on buying some mulch to put around the fruit trees I planted and I discovered these rubber mats at Lowe’s. After going on-line and reading the reviews I decided to give them a try. I bought 30 of them at $10 each, but if they last for years like the reviews say, then in the long run they will be less expensive than buying and replacing loose mulch every year. I approached two different cattle ranchers last week and inquired about the big piles of muck they rake up around their feed lots.

feedlot

These feedlot areas end up becoming a big pile of rotting hay, manure and mud. I thought I sure would like to have a trailer full of that to pile up in the back of the homestead and let it compost into a fine black compost during the summer. Unfortunately, both of them also farm and they scoop up the muck with a front end loader and spread it out on the weak areas of their crop fields. They both said I could bring my pickup truck and a shovel and get some, but that is not what I had in mind! I guess I will have to keep asking around, maybe I can find someone who just wants to get rid of a bunch at one time. Keep prepping everyone!

2 Responses to “Homestead Update”

  1. pioneer preppy April 27, 2014 at 9:31 pm #

    I got a bunch of old horse manure you can have in my loafing shed if ya wanna come up and get it 🙂

    I wish I could afford a tractor with a front bucket that is the only thing I dislike about my old Ford and the Massy is just too big and makes ruts everywhere.

    • doublebhomestead April 29, 2014 at 8:33 pm #

      That’s what the other guys told me but I have in mind someone using a loader and scooping up a dump truck or dump trailer load and letting me have it even if I have to pay a little for gas money. I have a few more possibilities to check out before I resort to all that man-u-el labor!

Leave a Reply

