Homestead Update and Cats!

13 Apr

moto_0990

While I was working around the homestead this week, I cleaned up some in the shop. I had this big Tupperware container of stuff to go through and unpack. All of this stuff was previously hanging on peg board hooks in my small workshop at the old house and it was like Christmas finding all this stuff I forgot I had! A lot of this stuff is brand new, still in the package, just hanging on the wall just like in the store.

moto_0983

Of course, the cats had to help me. Kensey said “Hey, I didn’t know all this stuff was up here! Maybe you should leave this ladder up all the time!”

moto_0984

Oreo wasn’t brave enough or nosey enough to climb up the ladder.

moto_0985moto_0986

After a little while, they both settled down and took their naps.

P1020426

And while I am working at my desk, Frank has to help me there.

moto_0989

Maybe I should just make a pet out of this ole snapping turtle I ran across while out in the field last week. He was about 12 inched in diameter and his head was as big as my fist. Not the kind of turtle you want to mess around with too much! Keep prepping everyone!

5 Responses to “Homestead Update and Cats!”

  1. Pioneerpreppy April 13, 2014 at 9:27 pm #

    As soon as I open the door to my shop there is one particular cat who makes a bee-line straight for it. If she can get in there she climbs to one particular spot and will sack out for hours or just lay there and watch me. The trouble is when I am just popping in to get something and then heading out and she get’s stuck in there. I now have to check the shop every couple of hours if I don’t see her just to make sure she didn’t get locked in.

    • doublebhomestead April 13, 2014 at 9:52 pm #

      Those two in the shop are kept in full time. I’m afraid if they wandered outside the coyotes or the hawks would get them.

  2. glattheranch April 14, 2014 at 9:46 am #

    Cats are pretty good at not getting caught, we have coyotes show up in our backyard and hawks killed my chickens but the cats are going strong. I’m sure their quality of life would be greatly improved outside.

    • doublebhomestead April 14, 2014 at 10:10 am #

      I think I might disagree with you about their quality of life. They are inside my “man cave” and they have heat in the winter and air conditioning in the summer, with plenty of places to take a nap. HAHA! There is a pet door they use to go outside in an enclosed play run. I did mention the idea of letting them out to Sweet Thing, but she is concerned they won’t know how to survive since they have never been outside and we bottle fed them by hand since they were abandoned as kittens. They didn’t have their Mama to teach them to be carefull. I still may give them a shot at going outside this Fall when I would have more time to keep my eyes on them and help keep them safe. I remember when I was growing up we always had outdoor cats and sometimes they would just disappear! I guess you just have to understand life is always a risk.

      • glattheranch April 14, 2014 at 10:31 pm #

        I hear you there, I have a declawed 18 year old diabetic house cat that I let outside only under the supervision of the barn cat who is in love with him. That’s so cool that you made them a play run!

Leave a Reply

