Homestead Update

12 Apr

The weather has been really nice this week, so nice in fact, I had to do some work for my JOB this week. That real job sure does interfere with the activities on the ole homestead.

moto_0981

I planted the berry vines I bought last fall. They sat in the pots all winter and they survived without any problems.

moto_0980

I needed 4 more grape vines to finish out the row so I bought these at Wal-Mart. They were sprouted and growing and looked really healthy so I took a chance on them.

moto_0991

The fruit trees I planted last fall are leafed out and looking good now. I have planted 30 trees and they have all survived so far. We should have an actual orchard some day with a variety of apple, pear, peach, plum, and cherry trees to go along with the grapes, blackberries, raspberries, and blueberries!

P1020438

I went by a local feed and seed store in town and picked up some tomatoes. I got two different varieties of heirloom tomatoes, Rutgers and Arkansas Traveler. I also got two hybrid bush tomatoes to plant in pots to put by the back door. Sweet Thing can just step out the door and pick one to eat whenever she wants!

Leave a Reply

