Homestead Update

5 Apr

With the improved temperatures I did some more work clearing brush and vines around the homestead. I sprayed some 2-4D weed killer on some additional areas and retreated some of the weedier spots from last week. And I guess you can officially say Spring has arrived because I saw my first snake of the year. I was straightening up some of the scrap lumber and junk behind my shop and as I lifted a small piece of plywood I discovered a big black chicken snake underneath it. YIKES! Unfortunately I didn’t get a picture for you, I was jumping around and screaming like a little schoolgirl and it scared the poor snake so bad he slithered away into the woodpile. Oh well, hopefully he will keep the population of mice and voles down.

moto_0977moto_0978

I was on the way to town and I spotted something on the shoulder of the road. I whipped around and picked up this brand-new plastic utility box. It is identical to the one my cable lines are running through. If I need a watertight box to put in a light switch or plug-in somewhere outdoors I can use this box. Nothing beats a price of “free” does it? Keep prepping everyone!

6 Responses to “Homestead Update”

  1. Pioneerpreppy April 5, 2014 at 9:32 pm #

    I saw a snake out last Sunday while I was cutting wood. A little bitty brown ring necked grass snake only about 6 inches long. I been getting ticks already like crazy though.

  2. K April 5, 2014 at 9:48 pm #

    Free is always the right price!

  3. Brigid April 6, 2014 at 5:04 pm #

    Not on topic, but I just wanted to drop you a big thank you for your kind comment and support after the best black lab in the world, Barkley, died late February. It was much appreciated Wishing you and your family the best.

Leave a Reply

