Homestead Update

28 Mar

moto_0966

With the improved weather I did manage to work on a few projects this past week. I used my tractor and brush-grubber chain to pull up some of those sapling trees on the front area by the highway. Someday when I get that finished the driveway to the house will look much neater.

moto_0967

I noticed Lowe’s had some fruit trees priced at $12.50 each and after quickly checking around town the other stores had trees priced $20-30 each so I went back to Lowe’s and bought 10 more trees to add to the orchard. I also dug enough holes with the posthole digger to plant the vines I bought last Fall, (grapes, raspberries, blackberries) and blueberries. I picked up 6 grapes at Wal-Mart, they were sprouting so I knew they were alive so I felt safe buying them, otherwise I steer clear of buying live plants at discount stores for the most part. I spent an afternoon picking up limbs and using the loping shears to trim up some vines and brush around the fences. I spent a few hours cleaning up inside my shop so I can get better organized. I serviced up my tractor and made preparations to hook up some more of my implements the next week so I can work up the garden area. It won’t be too long and I can start putting some seeds and plants into the ground! Keep prepping everyone!

4 Responses to “Homestead Update”

  1. Cathy March 28, 2014 at 9:23 pm #

    I just want to know if you sing while driving that tractor…..Green acres is the place to be… Farm living is the life for me……..

  2. Pioneerpreppy March 28, 2014 at 10:11 pm #

    I still can’t believe you use the post hole auger to make holes for your trees. LOL I would rather not take the time to change out whatever is hitched up to my tractor. I really hate switching out implements to be honest. I like to keep my blade on all Winter and the brush hog on all Summer if I can mange it.

    The post holer for trees seems like such overkill 🙂

    • doublebhomestead March 29, 2014 at 9:43 am #

      I know what you mean about switching implements, a real PITA! I took off the Bushhog at the start of winter so that wasn’t a problem. With my friend helping it only took 5 minutes to hook up the auger. Before I hook the Bushhog up I am going to hook the backhoe up, I have a few little chores that would be easier with hydraulics than with a shovel.

Leave a Reply

