Bee Hives

22 Mar

Pioneer Preppy has been posting about his new bee hives and I noticed some of the local bee keepers have started putting their hives out near some of the fields I check. Last week I was pulling some soil samples and as I was driving down the road, out of the corner of my eye I caught a glimpse of something interesting. I drove past the object I spotted then slammed on the brakes and backed up.

moto_0960

Sure enough, I did see this part of a bee hive on the shoulder of the road. Obviously this blew off of a truck while the bee keeper was moving his hives down the road. I picked the parts up and carried them with me for the next hour as I was working in the area. I had the intention of finding the hives and setting this out beside them so the owner could claim them when he came to check his hives but I didn’t see hives anywhere. If I don’t see them later I guess I will become the proud owner of a shallow super, top, and two frames with comb attached. This Summer I am going to buy a complete hive so I will have a pattern to make a few hives of my own. Maybe this time next year I will be ready to put out my own hives here on the Homestead. Keep prepping everyone!

4 Responses to “Bee Hives”

  1. Pioneerpreppy March 22, 2014 at 9:13 pm #

    Looks like a medium box to me with two frames as you say and a migratory cover. I would bet money it was from a dead out hive and that’s why they lost it as it was just too light. The frames look empty but maybe they were going to add supers already…. Still a nice find worth prolly a good 40 bucks or so in woodenware.

  2. Lorilee March 23, 2014 at 11:47 pm #

    I am hoping to have my own bees someday as well!

    • doublebhomestead March 24, 2014 at 8:51 am #

      Something always seems to get in the way of new projects doesn’t it?

Leave a Reply

