Homestead Update

21 Mar

The weather has definitely turned for the better this week. Signs of Spring are everywhere; birds singing, flowers blooming, trees budding, and grass growing.

moto_0965

Although, very little of that green color you see looking across the yard is actually grass. Most of it is wild garlic and winter annuals such as mares tail, chick weed, and henbit. The colder than normal Winter kept this weed complex in check until this past week and now it has started to grow. I didn’t do much spraying last year and I decided to do a better job of spraying this year.

moto_0964

Last year I bought this ATV mounted sprayer with a hand wand and this year I added the twin nozzle boom attachment. The boom sprays an 80 inch wide swath so it makes spraying a large area faster than a hand sprayer. I covered about 4 acres of the homestead today and it still took me all afternoon. I’ll get the other 4 acres next week after I evaluate my spraying from today. I used 4 different rates in my tank mixture so I need to check the results to see what worked the best.  Until then, keep prepping everyone!

4 Responses to “Homestead Update”

  1. Pioneerpreppy March 21, 2014 at 9:33 pm #

    Evil Spraying Bee KILLER!!! OMG…. I hope the Henbit isn’t blooming there yet 🙂

    • doublebhomestead March 21, 2014 at 9:55 pm #

      Not yet, those bees will just have to dine somewhere else. 🙂

  2. glattheranch March 21, 2014 at 10:21 pm #

    I love signs of spring, I saw my first meadowlark of the year today!

    • doublebhomestead March 22, 2014 at 10:30 am #

      I am ready for Spring now! It is predicted to be a low of 28 degrees Tuesday so I think I will tromp around in the thicket behind the house and cut some big vines loose from the trees. After that I will have to stay out of the thickets for a while, those newly emerged snakes are very nasty in the early Spring!

Leave a Reply

