Homestead Update

15 Mar

I haven’t done a lot around the homestead this past week even though the weather is finally taking a turn for the better.

moto_0946

Oreo and Kensey decided it was nice enough to come outside for the afternoon.

moto_0958

I walked along the fence line by my barn and cut the giant grape vines that are climbing up the trees. These are the same vines people use to make vine wreaths, only these vines are 3-4 inches in diameter. Kinda tough to wrap those vines into a wreath!

moto_0957

I used some scrap 2X4s to make this stand to help cut firewood from the small trees I seem to be constantly cutting down.

moto_0959

I can lay the 4-6 inch diameter trees on the stand and cut them into 20 inch lengths without worrying about cutting into the ground with my chainsaw. I also straightened up inside my barn so I can start on some Spring chores. I used my push mower to trim up the monkey grass around the sidewalk. I put gas in the mower and on the second pull it fired right up. That’s a rare event for me, I hate small engines, especially when they won’t start. Oh, I also went over to the old barn on my neighbor’s property.

P1020392

I pulled two of the outside boards and they were so dry rotted I could tell if I tried to cut them with a skilsaw the boards would just shatter to pieces. I went to the inside of the barn where the boards were more sheltered from the weather and pulled down 5 boards and I was only able to salvage 2 of them; the other 3 just split into sections. I know how to disassemble a wooden structure, I have done it many times. Despite my experience, I still think I would not be able to get much usable lumber from this old structure. If it was actually mine, and it was on my property I would take my time and slowly get it down and salvage what I could. But, since it is not actually mine I don’t think I will mess with it anymore. Besides, when I pulled the last board off the studs, I discovered a wad of Bumble Bees as big as my fist. They were sluggish due to the cold, but they started to stir when I pulled the board loose. Oh well, I guess I will let someone else deal with that eyesore!

Hopefully now that the weather is a little warmer I can start some Spring projects and I will keep you posted.

4 Responses to “Homestead Update”

  1. Pioneerpreppy March 15, 2014 at 9:44 pm #

    Yep doing chores around here as much as I can outside. Once the rains start it will prolly be May before I can get back out there.

    • doublebhomestead March 15, 2014 at 11:12 pm #

      Yes, it is just now starting to get dry enough to work outside but as I write this the radar is showing rain bearing down on us.

  2. Elizabeth March 16, 2014 at 10:07 am #

    hurrah bumble bees!! love those ‘little’ guys!

    • doublebhomestead March 16, 2014 at 10:12 am #

      Thanks for stopping by. I was surprised to see them moving around with snow on the ground.

Leave a Reply

