Dogs In The Snow

5 Mar

I went out to feed the dogs after the snow/sleet storm we had and I encountered a problem. The funnels and chutes I rigged up to feed the dogs from the outside of the pen were filled up solid with ice and I couldn’t get the feed into the pan. I tried to open the gate and go inside the pen but the ice had the gate frozen shut.

P1020393

I ended up just throwing the food through the fence. At first, they looked at me as if to say “hey, what’s going on here?” They ended up vacuuming up every piece of food eventually so they are well fed. I came back later in the day and dug out the gate with a shovel.

moto_0928

While I had the gate open, I let them out to run in the snow and they had a blast! I hope this is the last freezing precipitation we have this winter, but in case it is not, keep prepping everyone!

P.S. The grader finally came by to clear the road and it pushed a big mound of ice up in the driveway. I used my Kubota to clear it out and we may try to go to town this afternoon, we are going stir crazy after only 4 days!

moto_0935

moto_0934

Then I noticed the ice on top of my barn was trying to slide off in one solid piece, I am afraid to step under it! But at least we are getting a little melting at last.

2 Responses to “Dogs In The Snow”

  1. Stephen March 5, 2014 at 9:28 pm #

    Walk to the barn and smack the side a few times….that ice will come down. Just wear a hat.

    • doublebhomestead March 6, 2014 at 7:48 am #

      Yeah, But it might come down on my head. That sheet would be 600 square feet and at least 3 inches thick. That is why they actually have load ratings on rafters and roofs!

Leave a Reply

