Antique Fly-Rod

15 Feb

I was opening some boxes and unpacking some more of my treasures I have acquired over the years and I wanted to show you this one.

P1020327

This is an Antique Bamboo Fly-Rod in it’s own travel case. I’m sure the case came with a canvas cover when it was new but it is lost now.

P1020329

P1020328

This is a five piece rod and each piece fits down into a slot in the metal cap on the end of the holder. There are not any manufacturers markings on this so I don’t know the maker. Maybe someday I will find a suitable canvas cover for it as I am browsing around in an Antique Mall or Flea Market. Until then I will just display this rod in my office, it will look nice displayed alongside my antique fishing books. More treasures to come!

5 Responses to “Antique Fly-Rod”

  1. Anthony Goodrich March 20, 2015 at 12:16 pm #

    I have one just like this not in as good shape . It was my grandfather’s just wondering did you ever find a manufacturer name on it or how old .

  2. Brenda biskobing August 10, 2016 at 10:37 pm #

    I have this exact rod .do you happen to know a value on this rod ? One is also Missie the canvas case

    • doublebhomestead August 12, 2016 at 7:50 pm #

      No, sorry. I can’t find any manufacturing marks on it. I think you could find this type of rod for sale in the $75-$100 range. It would have to be identifiable as to the manufacturer to have much more value than that. I think I paid $60 for mine, I just thought it would look cool in my man cave. Thanks for stopping by!

      • Brenda biskobing August 14, 2016 at 9:15 am #

        Thank you for your response it just struck me as odd that they both had no manufactures mark on them .maybe it was some kind of sticker that fell off easily.ill keep looking and checking back .thank you

      • doublebhomestead August 14, 2016 at 1:27 pm #

        I just took another look and I DID find a manufacturers mark. On the metal cap on the very butt end of the rod a name is etched into the metal. Schmelzer Arms Co, Kansas City, MO. It appears mine is indeed worth $75-$100.

Leave a Reply

