Homestead Update

31 Jan

I wanted to give you an update on the happenings at our homestead. There really has not been much going on due to the record cold weather we have been having. I know it has been much worse for those of you further North, but it has been cold enough here that I haven’t spent much time outside. Last weekend the weather finally broke and we had above average temps so we cranked up the tractor and did some brush clearing in the front area by the road.

P1020312

You might remember we have four old, nearly dead trees on either side of the driveway.

P1020313P1020314

There are quite a few limbs falling out of the trees that need to be cleaned up.

moto_0891

I turned those old snags into a couple of buckets full of firewood, and with the cold temps we have been having it really came in handy!

P1020315

Now I need to clean up these saplings by pulling them up with the tractor. I don’t want to cut them down and leave all those stubs to have to mow over later. I will have to give you an update on that later because I had some trouble with my tractor and had to call the mechanic. The starter is stuck, it won’t disengage! I tapped on it with a hammer to try to unstick it, but it just kept whirring. I finally had to disconnect the battery to get it to stop. Well, the weather is going to take a turn for the worse again next week so I guess it is a good time for the tractor to be out of commission and in the shop. Keep prepping everyone.

2 Responses to “Homestead Update”

  1. Pioneerpreppy January 31, 2014 at 11:30 pm #

    Nice firewood!!! I actually cut a lot of limbs and falling deadwood myself. Many people won;t mess with it but I figure time v. effort it actually comes out ahead to go for the little stuff sometimes. It is harder on your back though.

    I am lucky with my little 8N, my dad has worked on them off and on his whole life so he can usually get her running when something goes wrong.

    • doublebhomestead February 1, 2014 at 7:01 pm #

      That small diameter woods burns just as well as the big stuff and doesn’t need to be split. Besides, I need to move that stuff anyway so I might as well burn it and get some use out of it.

Leave a Reply

