Harbor Freight Portable Garage

18 Jan

image_20622

The instructions for this unit said to put it up on a good level surface. Well, I don’t have a good level surface where I put my unit up, so I have a slight problem.

P1020299

When it rains, this section of roof fills up with water and puts a lot of stress on the tarp fabric and the poles.

P1020300

I have been going inside and pushing up on the tarp to remove the water but I know I am going to have to stop this from happening or the garage will tear or collapse so I engineered a slap-dash fix.

P1020301

I cut a 1X3 inch board long enough to span across from one roof beam to the next. I cut some foam pipe wrap and used Gorilla Tape to attach them to each end of the board to protect the tarp from the rough edges.

P1020302

P1020303

Then I used Gorilla Tape again and affixed the board across the spot where the fabric sags to give it some support. I don’t know for sure if this will be the final solution, when it rains again I will let you know. Keep prepping everyone!

2 Responses to “Harbor Freight Portable Garage”

  1. Teflon January 19, 2014 at 10:57 pm #

    The horizontal pipes by the base that are sleeved thru the cover. They must be loosened from the verticals and pressed down until the fabric is tight. You must be careful to make sure things stay even. Also, think about placing some sort of base down to stiffen the frame. I’ve used 2×6’s, 2×8’8 and railroad ties. But, I’ve always used something.

    • doublebhomestead January 19, 2014 at 11:36 pm #

      There is no way to get it level so I will just have to do the best I can with it. Thanks for stopping by, I appreciate the comment.

Leave a Reply

