Don’t Drive On Jell-O Pudding

4 Jan

moto_0869

Last week sweet Thing decided to drive down the hill behind the barn. Bad idea! The temps have been below freezing every day since we had the 8 inches of rain last week and we were just beginning to thaw out. The ground was so wet her car couldn’t make it back up the hill, it just kept sliding farther down the slope. I didn’t want to leave it there because the weather forecast is for more precipitation to come so I decided it was now or never. The shady areas were still mostly frozen with the top 1/2 inch thawed out, so you had a base of frozen soil with a 1/2 inch covering of Jell-O Pudding on top. No way to get much traction on that. I got my neighbor to help me get her car out and we had a bit of a mess. I hooked a chain to the front and tried to pull it up the hill with my Kubota tractor but I couldn’t get enough traction, all four wheels just kept spinning. I decided to try to go out the back way. I hooked the chain to the receiver on the rear and I told my neighbor to put it in reverse and just give it enough gas to spin the wheels and I would try to pull the rear wheels sideways. It worked well except the vehicle continued to slip further down the hill to come to a stop right next to some trees, briars and bramble.

moto_0870

I took my chainsaw and cut down two 4 inch diameter trees, then took the FEL bucket on the Kubota and cleared a path for the vehicle to continue making the turn at the base of the hill. We finally pulled the vehicle over to where the sun had dried the ground a little better and we managed to pull it back up to the gravel driveway. Oh, my chainsaw started on the third pull, by the way. I couldn’t believe it! Usually when you really need something in a big hurry, it won’t start, but wonder of wonders it did! I’ve been trying to start all of my small engines at least once a month and that really helps. I just make that part of my prepping, if they don’t start, they are not much use. That is unless you are Marcel Ledbetter! You know what I’m talkin’ about don’t cha? Keep prepping everyone.

2 Responses to “Don’t Drive On Jell-O Pudding”

  1. Denis George Miller January 5, 2014 at 9:28 am #

    we don’t get much freezing rain here in saskatchewan but we do have a type of clay on our dirt (grid) roads that when wet it has the traction of wheel grease. lotsa fun

    • doublebhomestead January 5, 2014 at 1:18 pm #

      That sounds like the soil I was driving on. You should be thankful for not having freezing rain, trust me!

Leave a Reply

