Winter Storm Gemini

21 Dec

Well, Gemini is not a Winter storm in our area, just 70 degree temps, high winds, heavy rain, and possible Thunder storms. I know some of you are having snow and ice from this storm and I hope you were all prepared. I knew the rain was coming so I brought two FEL bucket loads of firewood up to the porch while the ground was firm and dry. I purchased a useful item before the last storm that I forgot to show you.

propane adapter

I bought this Mr. Heater brand propane tank refill adapter. You screw it onto a 20 pound grill size bottle of propane and you can refill the 1 pound bottles that attach to camping heaters, stoves, and lanterns. I have never liked these items much because of the high cost of the 1 pound bottles, but when I found a way to refill the bottles, it makes them much more economical. I read the reviews before I purchased the item and most people say you can only refill them 1/2 way up but that will be ok. I have acquired 20 of the small bottles over time so I should be able to get plenty of use out of the adapter.

moto_0838

I am definitely worried about the durability of my Harbor Freight portable garage in the winter. After the last storm where we received 3 inches of sleet, snow, and freezing rain, the roof on the garage sagged quite a bit. I went inside and raised up the sagging spots with my hands and got the snow off of the roof. If you were to get 8 inches or more of snow on this garage I’m not so sure it would hold up. I hope I am not able to give you a report on that this winter, you can keep all those 8 inch snows for yourself! Keep prepping everyone!

2 Responses to “Winter Storm Gemini”

  1. Pioneer Preppy December 22, 2013 at 3:02 am #

    I bet you can only get it about halfway filled toward the bottom of the 20 pound tank. Prolly do 3/4s when the 20 pounder is full. Would be a useful gizmo to have though regardless!!!

    • doublebhomestead December 22, 2013 at 10:08 am #

      You actually turn the big tank upside down to fill the small tanks. You also put them in the freezer beforehand to reduce the pressure.

Leave a Reply

