Winter Storm

6 Dec

moto_0823

Recently my sister asked me if I had a source of heat for my dogs and I said those mutts don’t need any heat. If I had a heat pad in the house they would eat it!

moto_0825

I built this nice cozy enclosure for them and put individual houses inside the enclosure. I try to keep the houses filled with cedar shavings, but it keeps disappearing. I see very little of it on the ground so I guess they are eating it!

moto_0826

It’s a good thing I have them fixed up nice and cozy because we are in the middle of a winter storm. This is a picture out of our backdoor and all that white is ice and sleet. The weatherman is predicting 3 inches of sleet before the night is over with more possible on Sunday. Let’s hope he is wrong, but I am prepared as well as I can be. I stocked up on more batteries, fuel, and food on Monday and the stores had plenty. The people who waited until yesterday to buy supplies were out of luck. I had to give part of our preps to some of our totally unprepared relatives. I would have let the adults sit in the dark and cold and suffer, but I took pity on the kids and I wanted them to be warm so I took them a kerosene heater and fuel, so one of my backup sources of heat is unavailable to me. Oh well, I have 3 other backups (firewood, another kerosene heater, a propane heater) so we will be OK. Stay prepared everyone!

7 Responses to “Winter Storm”

  1. Pioneer Preppy December 6, 2013 at 9:37 pm #

    Was figuring you were getting hit down there. It all went South of us just a couple of flakes up here but we got the cold.

    • doublebhomestead December 6, 2013 at 10:16 pm #

      Yeah, the roads are horrible tonight. Saw several cars off the road into the ditch.

  2. denis December 7, 2013 at 6:50 am #

    we are only getting minus 30 temps so we should be ok. don’t like sleet and freezing rain at all!

    • doublebhomestead December 7, 2013 at 8:54 am #

      You are certainly welcome to keep all those minus temps all to yourself. I told a blogger from MN down here in the south when the temps fall below freezing we pretty much declare an emergency and shut everything down until it warms back up!

      • denis December 8, 2013 at 10:00 am #

        wusses, I worked in South Carolina one winter and could not believe how poor the drivers were in snow and ice. although you don’t as much practice as we do up here in western Canada.

  3. ourlittleacres December 7, 2013 at 12:37 pm #

    Nice of you to share your preps. Hopefully this will give them a heads-up to get their own but I bet you’re not holding your breath! Love the set up for your dogs. Mine take up a large amount of space on our porch which needs to change someday. We had a dusting of snow and the kiddos wanted about a foot but that storm just slid up the western edge of WV. Maybe next time.

    • doublebhomestead December 7, 2013 at 6:27 pm #

      No, they will just think if it gets bad we can borrow Uncle Swamp Dog’s heater again so there is no need to buy their own! I might just surprise them and say no next time!

Leave a Reply

